He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.

02/25/2011

- Jim Elliot

27 Responses to “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.”

  1. Leti Says:

    It’s a wonderful saying, it enlightened me

  2. pbus1 Says:

    That was truly a mouth full, said with so few words!

    God bless!

    Paulette

  3. Linda Says:

    What fun friends you have! Great and insightful comments. All I can add is that your quote takes a great leap of maturity. And while I’m not there yet, it’s a goal I admire and aspire to!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh yes, my friends are fun, awesome and a blessing! And it’s my pleasure to welcome you here!

      Though I have given up a lot already to gain so much I am not totally there yet — there are still clutters that need to be thrown.
      God bless you! :)


  4. This is absolutely beautiful. Thank you.


  5. A sentence with simple words yet its meaning reflect more than how one should truly be in life…

    To take is to give whole-heartedly and to gain is to lose completely… ;)

    Oh yes, thanks for what you wrote about my dream – Train… Wrote something for you in return too.. :)

    *HUG*

    • bendedspoon Says:

      “To take is to give whole-heartedly and to gain is to lose completely‚Ķ”

      I like how it made me think! Seems to be a different take but made a perfect sense! Thanks! :)

  6. afirmin Says:

    Maybe you should send this to Colonel Gaddafi!!!

    Nice quote :)

    Take care Alan.

  7. Debbie Says:

    So beautiful here. Love the quote and the comments. I really liked your reply to Linda about us stressing to guard stuff while forgetting to guard our souls. You wise and beautiful and funny! Thank you!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Deb it’s beautiful when you are among beautiful friends just like your place and I’m in there too. Did I just say I’m one of the beauties? lol!

      Guarding our stuff – it’s no wonder that this generation is prone to stress related disease when we now have to guard branded bags compared to baskets (I wasn’t in that generation *wink* nor do I buy branded bags); when we now have to guard the iphones when back then the telephone is only peacefully resting on the table; and so many more things! :)

  8. Ann Says:

    Amen, Princess Rea,

    He is no fool indeed!

    “What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? What could you ever trade your soul for? ” Mark 8:36 (The Message Version)

    @ Linda :- sounds like a nice song. I’ll go listen :-)

    Blessings
    ann

    Jim Reeves is in my head … I’d rather have Jesus! :-)


  9. This can also apply to some intangible things. :)


  10. I remember years ago seeing a bumper sticker that said, “He who dies with the most toys still dies.” It seems to carry the same message as your quote.

    Third Day sings a great song called “What Good” on their Time CD. The first verse and chorus are:

    Rich young man, you think you can
    Make it through the world on the things you’ve got
    I’ll tell you, I know it’s true
    You can’t get to heaven on things you’ve bought
    They’re going to leave you
    They’re going to fade away

    What good is it a man
    to gain the whole world
    And forfeit his soul

    Thanks for posting this great quote! Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh yes what good is it a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul? We are the only species who keep on acquiring things then stress ourselves guarding them instead of guarding our souls.

      Thank you for sharing that song and have a blessed day! :)

  11. jmjbookblog Says:

    I love that quote…it makes me think of one I heard years ago…You only take with you the things you give away…makes one realize that it truly is better to give than to receive. :) Thanks for another great post! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

