Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power.

09/23/2010

– Tao Te Ching

25 Responses to “Mastering others is strength. Mastering yourself is true power.”


  1. Oops! I messed up my first comment. What I meant to say was that in any case self must be “mastered”. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      the proof? 🙂
      how can I be so messed up
      at times
      like now
      😦


      • I’m so sorry, I do not understand what you mean. It makes me sad to see you with a sad face. You give so much happiness to others. I hope i didn’t say anything to make you sad. 😦

        • bendedspoon Says:

          it’s not what you say
          but the whispers of the wind.
          proof that i have yet
          to master myself
          and not leave it to the wind
          to blow my day.
          i’m always glad
          to have you around.
          🙂


          • I’m so glad to have you around,and do not worry about mastering self. We have a master who is gentle and kind. Do not worry about blowing your day…our master of self is also the master of the wind. 😉

            • bendedspoon Says:

              you just made my day
              with your lines
              “our master of self
              is also the master of the wind”
              thanks for the reminder
              who the real Master is.
              I have to remember!
              🙂


  2. hmmm…mastering,…I’m thinking. That would be like subduing, conquering,…or would it be more like comprehending, understanding? Am I right? In any case “self” surely needs to be conquered. I believe it can be partially done in the here and now, but who is able to perform it? Someone comes to mind. To have self mastered is a great desire! Thank you for such a thought provoking post. 🙂

  3. Darya Says:

    So true…but how does one go about mastering themselves. I keep changing so frequently every time i get to ‘master’ myself, a new me has emerged 😀


  4. That is brilliant.
    I love this quote.

    We both seem to have an interest in saying a lot, by saying little.

    <3Burningbeacon.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      thank you!
      i so thought with you
      few words, few lines
      yet it seems i haven’t grasp
      all the meanings behind.
      as for me, the truth is
      i can’t seem to say
      so much
      but it’s alright
      one take away thought
      is good enough
      🙂


  5. so true… and once we master ourselves, I think life can unfold the way it was always meant to.

  6. 20morethings Says:

    The Tao Te Ching has it right. The self is always harder to Master. 🙂

  7. Tisha Says:

    Words to live by, nice! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      do you think we can truly master ourselves?
      your thoughts please 🙂

      • Tisha Says:

        I think trying to hard to force some sort of discipline can backfire – as it seems to go against trusting the universe to provide what you need at any given time. Soooo, I’m still thinking on this one…

  8. Stef Says:

    Amen sister!


Leave a Reply

