We may pass violets looking for roses. We may pass contentment looking for victory.

10/15/2010

– Bern Williams

19 Responses to “We may pass violets looking for roses. We may pass contentment looking for victory.”

  1. tonirand Says:

    I so like this! A lot!!

    Thanks for sharing. There is plenty of food for thought hither!

    blessings,
    ann


  2. …and if we have found contentment we have found victory as well, and violets can smell sweet. I love to look at violets in the flower bed! 🙂

  3. mariqia Says:

    Yes that’s right, we can be so focused on our goals that we forget the lessons we get as we progress..

    It’s like stop once in a while and smell the roses haha…♥

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And oftentimes,if not always,
      we have to go back to learn anew
      and appreciate what we have missed.
      Lucky if we still can.
      Here’s to smelling the violets and the roses!
      🙂

  4. Tisha Says:

    Such a great quote and so true. I try to bring this sentiment into conversations with my daughters all the time. One of my greatest hopes for them is that they will always see and appreciate the violets first and foremost.


  5. You find the most wonderful quotes! 🙂 For some reason this reminds me of a verse that says, would a man gain the whole world, but forfeit his soul? Stopping to appreciate those violets today! And to appreciate wonderful you!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Debbie thank you for the bouquet of violets
      you have just given to me — lovely!
      Is it possible to gain the whole world?
      I don’t want to. Where will I put it? lol
      🙂


  6. Contentment is such a blessing, especially if it helps us see the violets! Paul tells us his secret to being content in Philippians 4:11-13 –

    “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”

    Jesus made the violets and the roses, and He can provide us contentment no matter which we encounter. Peace, Linda

  7. jmjbookblog Says:

    How true…beautiful quote…thanks for posting!

  8. Sally Says:

    Thanks for visiting my site and leaving a comment. I visited your site and it is wonderful!! Lots of words of wisdom we should all try to remember…at least…once in a while. Thanks Sal

    Oh…by the way…violets and forget me nots are my favorite.

  9. Stef Says:

    Reminds me of the cliche: Would you rather be right, or happy? 😉


Leave a Reply

