Man is the only critter who feels the need to label things as flowers or weeds.

10/20/2010

– Unknown

12 Responses to “Man is the only critter who feels the need to label things as flowers or weeds.”

  1. bendedspoon Says:

    I love hearing from everyone
    and learning so much!
    Thank you!
    🙂


  2. What a great conversation going on here! You make me think (ouch!) and that is a good thing! 🙂 So, are labels bad? How do we not label? Lots of questions! I know that finding out what was going on, which meant a label, concerning one of my daughters, helped me. Then, it was up to me to keep in mind that that label wasn’t all there was to her, didn’t limit who she was. Now, she doesn’t often consider her label and neither do I!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha glad to hear that!
      Thanks for the realization that labels will always be there and it’s up to us how we will take it from there.
      🙂


  3. Plants are plants. They’re living things. The concept of ‘weed’ is from people who don’t even know which plants would really being growing/living in that location if there were no humans ‘landscaping’ to suit their own ideas of appropriate plants. Another definition of a weed is a “displaced plant.”

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Glad to hear from the point of view of an environmentalist. ‘Displaced plant’ suddenly made me think of ‘You must love me’, a song from the movie Evita. “Where do we go from here..” — where do we GROW from here?
      🙂

  4. jmjbookblog Says:

    Isn’t that the truth! It’s so awesome to listen to my granddaughter when she picks a ‘weed’ and believes it to be a beautiful flower…if we could only keep that part of us our whole life through!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I myself is interested in weeds.
      When I was young,
      I made Christmas cards out of them.
      Even now I imagine what I can do with them.
      Beautiful things all in my head.
      🙂


  5. This is true. There are some things I don’t like growing in my yard, especially the poison ivy that likes to grow around one of my pine trees. But a lot of people should show more appreciation for some “weeds” that show up.

    The same principle applies to people. The Bible has a parable about the wheat and the tares (weeds). It said to not pull up the weeds, because you might accidentally pull up the wheat by mistake. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Theresa!
      Just read the parable.
      The weeds are allowed to grow altogether with the wheat but in the end they will be separated.
      One to be burned and the other to the barn.
      So when it comes to good or evil;wheat or weed
      it’s not about labeling but it is the truth?
      I need enlightenment.
      🙂

  6. Stef Says:

    This reminds me of the kids who cry because their parents kill the flowers (dandelions) in their yard. So sweet (the kids, not the pesticides). 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Kids see all things as good
      until the adult says otherwise.
      Some adults see too all things as good
      until something bad happened.
      But there are amazing beings who still see good
      despite the bad things that happened.
      Now, where do all the ‘good’
      and ‘bad’ labels came from?
      🙂


Leave a Reply

