I was taught that the human brain was the crowning glory of evolution so far, but I think it’s a very poor scheme for survival.

10/29/2010

– Kurt Vonnegut

10 Responses to “I was taught that the human brain was the crowning glory of evolution so far, but I think it’s a very poor scheme for survival.”

  1. maggsworld Says:

    i depends on how said brain is used – one would think!!!


  2. You are cracking me up here! ha ha! All I can say is that I’m so thankful that I don’t have to rely on my brain for survival. Oh help me Jesus!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha!
      You made me think that sometimes
      the brain is actually the tragedy of mankind.
      We rely so much on it
      and forget the heart that beats.
      🙂


  3. This quote made me say to myself: “Hmmmmmmmm!” (That’s me thinking, using my brain, which is important but not God’s crowning achievement.) I believe the human spirit is more powerful than the human brain has the potential to be. Especially when the human spirit is in sync with the Holy Spirit! So I would agree with Vonnegut that the human brain is a poor scheme for survival. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is so true!
      I personally know a handful of intelligent beings who find it hard to survive because the spirit is so weak. In the end, the value of the mind is lost if the spirit isn’t strengthen altogether. Here’s to welcoming that spirit — yes,the Holy Spirit!
      🙂

  4. afirmin71 Says:

    I don’t believe we will survive unless we figure out how to use more of our brains. But then again, maybe what we have is more than enough.

    Only time will tell if we are as clever as we believe we are and figure out our brains true potential. Every secret we do not know awaits and every opportunity to understand everything is right in front of us.

    If we can only know enough to put aside differences, racism and prejudices then maybe, just maybe, it will be the breakthrough we are looking for to understanding what why really are here and what we can do to add to this wonderful universe we live in.

    As always, a real thought provoking message. Have a great weekend.
    Take care
    Alan

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Your great insights always make me speechless!
      As always you got me thinking, and that’s a good thing (Deb hear me lol)! Looking forward to that breakthrough and I know you’re of those beings who is working on it. Great weekend to you in Dubai!
      🙂


Leave a Reply

