Man is born a predestined idealist, for he is born to act. To act is to affirm the worth of an end, and to persist in affirming the worth of an end is to make an ideal.

11/07/2010

–Β Oliver Wendell Holmes

16 Responses to “Man is born a predestined idealist, for he is born to act. To act is to affirm the worth of an end, and to persist in affirming the worth of an end is to make an ideal.”

  1. tonirand Says:

    Still trying to figure out where on the continuum I’m currently sitting πŸ™‚

    Where do you find these deep thoughts? Must you force me to think? lol

    As always, great food for thought. Thanks for sharing!

    ann

  2. Debbie Says:

    Well, I wanted something clever to write about this . . .but I’ve got nothin’. ha! Thank you for the amazing quotes that make us think. Well, that make most of us think, the ones who are smart like you! πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      hahaha!
      The loudest laugh I have so far today!
      I just came from your site after digging your old posts and left a message that I can’t totally understand today’s verse. Now I know how important the Holy Spirit is. Really can’t make it.
      πŸ™‚

  3. afirmin71 Says:

    I have added your website to my interesting links for the inspiration you provide. Have a great day, Alan

  4. afirmin71 Says:

    We are born free,
    but society conforms and reshapes,
    until we are afraid to be individuals,
    until we cannot express our thoughts,
    until we realize that is wrong,
    do we realize we should pursue those thoughts,
    those dreams, those beliefs,
    for that is what makes us happy,
    That is what fulfills our soul,
    That is what we were born to be.
    Free, as we will when we die.

    You find some amazing quotes, I have been thinking about this since yesterday! Thank you, take care Alan.

  5. JMJ Says:

    It never ceases to amaze me when someone is able to put so much into so few words and have such deep meaning.


  6. hmmmm… I am going to have to chew on this one a little more πŸ™‚ Very, very interesting.

  7. maggsworld Says:

    I suppose that makes me an idealist.


Leave a Reply

