What I sought was to grasp the flavor of a man, his texture, his impact, what he stood for, what he believed in, what made him what he was and what color he gave to the fabric of his time.

11/11/2010

– John Gunther

12 Responses to “What I sought was to grasp the flavor of a man, his texture, his impact, what he stood for, what he believed in, what made him what he was and what color he gave to the fabric of his time.”

  1. Linda Lewis Says:

    And did it happen? Do we ever know all that makes up a person? Is it important? Or should we just appreciate him/her as they are without wondering how they got that way.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Right Linda.
      I don’t think one can fully grasp the flavor of a man but whatever good one got appreciation won’t hurt.
      It might released the flavor further..
      🙂


  2. bendedspoon:

    Her flavor: like a lemon bar cookie…sweet with just a little zip, and habit forming ( can’t eat just one).

    Her texture: warm and fuzzy like one of my kid’s blankets when it’s fresh out of the drier.

    Her impact: sunny and warm. Like sun-loving plants we “reach” for more of what shine out of her.

    What she stood for; what she believed in: The short time I have been acquainted with her here in the world of blogging can best be summed up in (You guessed it) a Bible verse. She lives it out in all that I have read. It is Philippians 4:8:

    “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

    What made her what she was? … 🙂

    What color did she give to the fabric of her time? those beautiful pinks you often see at sunset.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow and now I am a lemon bar among other things!
      I bow down with your appreciation.
      I lift up my hands in praise to Him.
      I stretched my lips from ear to ear.
      I bended sideways to hug my kiddos.
      I reached the Bible for Philippians.
      And I wish I could do a somersault!
      Thank you Theresa for further encouraging me
      to exercise my faith in goodness of mankind!
      Uh did I just say mankind? That’s huge!
      🙂

  3. Debbie Says:

    How did he put so much into one sentence? It really makes me want to listen, look, and care about others around me, to let them know they color my world. People like YOU! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Deb I too got a rainbow from you
      and from everyone in here.
      If only I can paint it majestically,
      you will all know
      how you have color my world
      real bright!
      Thanks to everyone!
      🙂

  4. maggsworld Says:

    Lyrically lovely and deeply touching. Thank you. It is like a light to me, right now. This quote. Your gift wrapped parcels of words and thoughts. M.

  5. afirmin71 Says:

    As I slip through time I tried to grasp,
    What impact my life had on the stars,
    Will I echo through the universal core,
    Did I burn out before my time,
    Will the stardust that I left behind,
    Light the path for others to see,
    A way to make a better world,
    or at the very least I tried,
    To make a better person of,
    The soul I was blessed to fill.

    Your quotes are beautiful and inspiring.
    I had so many visions reading this quote over and over.
    Love it! Have a lovely weekend. Take care Alan

  6. jmjbookblog Says:

    I just LOVE the quotes that you share! Thank you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

