It’s no wonder that truth is stranger than fiction. Fiction has to make sense.

11/16/2010

– Mark Twain

16 Responses to “It’s no wonder that truth is stranger than fiction. Fiction has to make sense.”

  1. Linda Lewis Says:

    Obviously, last night’s DWTS results are not fiction because they make no sense!


  2. This is a great quote. I like to read his quotes. I liked the comments you and Ann had, too.

  3. Stef Says:

    Love it! 🙂

  4. jmjbookblog Says:

    Mark Twain sure hit the nail on the head with that statement! So true! I think most of us have things happen that we never tell anyone because no one would believe us if we did! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I will believe you! lol
      When something ‘strange’ happened to me
      I find it easier to believe the ‘strangest’ thing
      that happened to someone else.
      The surprise is more on the thought
      of how strong the spirit is
      or how faithful to God
      and hopefully not how evil one can be.
      I’m thinking of Job remaining steadfast to God.
      🙂

  5. maggsworld Says:

    I believe if I wrote my life in the many amassed volumes, there would be those who denied it could be real.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Your comment in my Mortality post shocked me.
      If that is just one of the ‘strange’ truths in your life then fiction is easier to digest but it’s just that, pigment of imagination. The substance lies in the truth and how you handle your truths is truly admirable — for one, you’re such a superwoman! Keep on inspiring Maggie!
      🙂

  6. Debbie Says:

    I’ve read some pretty strange fiction! ha! So glad the Truth is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow . . .even if hard for me to grasp at times! 🙂 Thank you so much for all you do to keep us smiling and thinking good thoughts!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That’s what I love about the truth,
      no matter how much you deny it,
      twist it, interpret it
      at the end of the day
      it only mean one thing
      — the truth!
      yay! 🙂

  7. afirmin71 Says:

    This made me laugh, how true!

    And how many our lives if put under a microscope would make for a bizarre and frightening read into the surreal!

    I often wonder why people get so upset about celebrities making mistakes like they are higher than human or something. I am sure if we looked at every human being in this way your quote would reveal the complete truth of this matter.

    But I really love this one 🙂
    Take care Alan

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I totally agree with you Alan!
      I myself was surprised with the unfolding of my life.
      I thought the drama, suspense and actions
      in the movies are too much to bear
      until I became the star!
      And so is my friend, and my friend’s friends
      yes, that’s everyone else — nothing strange.
      🙂

  8. tonirand Says:

    Thanks kindly, Thou-who-makest-me-to-think 🙂

    The minute I read this, Paul’s note came to mind : ” For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” 1 – Cor 1:18

    Yes, Truth does not always make sense but we get to choose what we believe 😉

    More blessings to you!
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thanks Ann for this powerful One!
      I thought of Him too.
      How strange it is, at first,
      that He gave His only Son
      but then when the reason is love
      i have nothing but praise.
      He loves us, non-fiction!
      🙂


Leave a Reply

