The First Step To Victory

11/19/2010

Who's who?

Recognize the enemy!

Enemy at the gate!

Enemy on the plate!

Enemy in the bottle!

Enemy in the  stick!

Enemy on the mind!

Enemy from behind!

Enemy   in   the  lips!

Enemy that deceives!

Enemy in the heart!

Enemy  that  hurts!

Do you know your enemy?

What is your next step?

🙂

63 Responses to “The First Step To Victory”

  1. Vinay Says:

    oh that’s the irony indeed! we are our own worst enemy! 🙂 but then again, we are at times able to conquer ourselves. rarely though, not a usual happening is it? nice verse Bendedspoon!

    Rally Week 41 – My Poetry

  2. Stephen Says:

    I like it. We always/never look for the enemy at out gates.

  3. dragonkatet Says:

    I loved the picture, and the poetic list which follows is a terrific starting point! There are so many other ‘enemies’ which could be added, but that’s the point, isn’t it? For us each to discover who/what the enemy is! Very clever, spoon. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much for your appreciation! Yes there are more enemies not on list. One fun way to do it is to ask your partner to add into your own list! So there could be enemy on the mirror, enemy on the bed and whole lot more, way beyond our reach but could reach us. Hugs and blessings 🙂


  4. ‘who is your enemy’.. Nice one.. here is my rally poem… a dream she is… a kiss seals…

    Someone is Special


  5. wow….i think i sometimes know who the enemy is. love this one. makes me think.

  6. lunawitch15 Says:

    as always, a great read!


  7. adorable photo. did she dictate this?

  8. jfarmer3 Says:

    Loved it! It’s 10:20 a.m. in Michigan and reading this was a nice way to start the day.

    -John / singingchaos.wordpress.com

  9. Alcina Says:

    Thats so cute…I don’t know why i say this but it feels so after the read..and i am not able to yet decipher the first step to victory..

    Unusual!
    Alcina

  10. haggishead Says:

    love how the poem reaches it´s climax and how the final question sort of resolves all the tension. and reveals the meaning of this poem. great writing!

  11. seabell Says:

    So that’s why battles are fought: in order to know the enemy better! But I do understand the children’s perspective…

  12. Adam Says:

    “Do you know your enemy?” I think I can identify my enemy in a number of your examples. ‘A bottle’ is certainly my weakness and therefore probably my enemy.
    A very thought provoking and moving poem. I often ask mysely what the next step is.

    Loved it 🙂


  13. I am left thinking about the next step bended spoon, hope you find the answer and share it too. lovely work.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      lol! I am actually hoping that I will be informed through comments. Could it be know the root cause? Run? Immediately act upon it? Put on the whole armor of God?
      Let’s pray for enlightenment. Peace 🙂

  14. Olivia Says:

    I guess our apprehensions are our biggest enemies.. more than the ones in flesh n blood!

    Very well played.. 🙂
    Hugs xox

  15. fiveloaf Says:

    if everyone would understand that this is all part of life, with childhood innocence, we should not be afraid of the next step. bold one and nice bended.. my thursday~ http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/let-it-be-it/

  16. mairmusic Says:

    My next step is to try to make friends w/ the enemies! A scary look at life; hope it isn’t true.

  17. Chimnese Says:

    we have to be careful, about the enemy….as the scripture said.”The fear of the man lays a snare, but whoever trust in the lord is safe…

    I agree with the afirmin that at times we cud also be our own enemy…

    my link:http://mypoetrywriting.blogspot.com/2011/04/postcard-from-heaven.html

  18. magher1 Says:

    Got to be careful in life… Nicely put! 😀

  19. Sam Says:

    beautifully put and God bless you’re little angel.:-)

  20. Paulami Says:

    loved the beat of the poem.
    as usual, amazing work 🙂


  21. Think my enemy is myself and I trying to be nice, hahahah, love myself even the side of ugliness before making progess with it… so have I taken the first step? Hehehhe

  22. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom Says:

    nice rhymes! our enemy is our own self many times. it’s called doubt and fear, they are the enemy.

    please check mine too: “Beyond Silent Wars”

  23. Teri C Says:

    That enemy seems to be everywhere and recognition is the first important step so you have a great last line leaving lots of thought on our part.

  24. Jingle Says:

    fun word play..
    Thanks for sharing with poets rally.
    🙂

  25. maggsworld Says:

    I learn from the post and the comments and then meditate on all these raise in me and around me. A step in my journey. Thank you again.

  26. Debbie Says:

    What is my next step? Pray and move toward Jesus! 🙂 Whether that enemy is within me or from the outside. Love the post/poem/thoughts/comments/picture of your cutie! Lots to love here! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thanks for appreciating Deb!
      The next step is equally important.
      It can either raise you to the next level,
      keep you spinning around or get stuck.
      And with Jesus, it’s always a great move!
      🙂


  27. Wow. That is so thought provoking. Some of the comments are thought provoking, too. Some enemies are people, and some are bad thoughts. Enemies without;enemies within. So when I pray “Lead me not into temptation, but deliver me from evil.”, I often add “Both the evil without and the evil within”. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa thank you for the emphasis
      in the Lord’s Prayer.
      I think I’ll adapt it
      that I may not forget ‘within’.
      Now I’m so glad with this post
      because of that insight!
      🙂
      Truth be told, each time I post
      I look forward to the comments
      because I learn more from them,
      deeper than my thoughts.
      So thankful to have all of you in here!
      🙂

  28. Stef Says:

    I work to not think in terms of “we vs. they”, “us vs. them”, me vs. you, friend vs. enemy, etc. If I have an “enemy”, that means I have hate; and I’m doing my best to become truly free from that.

  29. jmjbookblog Says:

    Who’s the lttle darling? Such a cutie and those cheeks are begging for a little tweek! 🙂

  30. Eric Says:

    So true, so true, ‘Spoon.
    The enemy lurks
    in the habits
    of our days.

    Thank you for the reminder!

  31. afirmin71 Says:

    We are usually our own worst enemy!

    Great, great post! SO thought provoking, as usual.

    Take care Alan


Leave a Reply

