The greatest hazard of all, losing one’s self, can occur very quietly in the world, as if it were nothing at all. No other loss can occur so quietly; any other loss – an arm, a leg, five dollars, a wife, etc. – is sure to be noticed.

11/21/2010

– The Sickness Unto Death

15 Responses to “The greatest hazard of all, losing one’s self, can occur very quietly in the world, as if it were nothing at all. No other loss can occur so quietly; any other loss – an arm, a leg, five dollars, a wife, etc. – is sure to be noticed.”

  1. afirmin71 Says:

    The world can take away everything I own.
    Life can take away my material being.
    But no one, accept god, can take away who I am.

    This is beautiful!
    Take care Alan.

  2. mariqia Says:

    This is true..sometimes we’re too busy in our lives, and when we’re rushing..we most likely forget the essentials..:)


  3. And what an easy trap it is to fall in. There is always so much going on and if you aren’t continually trying to be conscious and present, it is possible that you will get continually sucked into the world and all the distractions … really loved this quote.

  4. Debbie Says:

    It happens so often . . .to me too. So easy to lose ourselves in the rush to take care of everyone and everything else. Or be what others want us to be. . .or not be. . . This one just made me stop for a moment. But, I know that I am found in Him. 🙂 That always brings me back!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Same here Deb.
      What’s with most of us
      that we lose ourselves?
      God made us so He must want to see us
      honoring ourselves too
      — not in vanity but inherent divinity.
      🙂

  5. jmjbookblog Says:

    It’s sad when people feel alone in the world…mind bloggling with the incredible number of people on the planet…yet people who share the same house can be unseen by one another. That quote really makes one stop and think. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      that is so true.
      alone is no longer a quantity
      but a state of being
      and if that is so,
      I should be engaged with myself
      or better yet with God
      to not feel alone.
      confusing, yes I’m confused!
      Anyone please paraphrase what I’m saying
      I need a better statement, seriously!
      🙂


  6. This really hit home. Thank you for the provoking thought.

  7. tonirand Says:

    Hmmmm….

    “Now you see me, now you don’t” kinda thing? 🙂

    Seriously though, makes me think of the number of ‘invisible’ people I meet on a daily basis. They’re right there in-front of me but so engrossed in their own private pains they just seem to float on by… 😦

    ‘Tis sad indeed.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • tonirand Says:

      This was the song that came to mind when I saw the quote. Couldn’t remember all the words but I managed to find them (Steve Green – People need the Lord).

      “Everyday they pass me by,
      I can see it in their eyes.
      Empty people filled with care,
      Headed who knows where?

      On they go through private pain,
      Living fear to fear.
      Laughter hides their silent cries,
      Only Jesus hears…”

      Thanks again for sharing. It saddens me that we can be so close to each other yet remain so out of touch.

      People ask “How are you?” and take off before you have a chance to respond… Others answer “I’m good” even thought they’re not because they don’t dare speak the truth.

      Physical, material things are lost and mourned over yet people crawl inside themselves and vanish daily, almost unnoticed.

      • bendedspoon Says:

        Thank you Ann for the added depth
        and for sharing the beautiful song.
        I was actually one of those floating people
        and I have to thank Him
        for putting me back on the ground
        and hopefully one day, up in heaven
        – but never floating.
        But then sometimes I still float
        got to flush out all that oil of bitterness
        – with faith.
        🙂


Leave a Reply

