I need to broaden my horizons really.

11/24/2010

– Marilyn Manson

16 Responses to “I need to broaden my horizons really.”

  1. mariqia Says:

    You’re doing good Rea. You have such a nice blog here..You have us..:)

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Maricel you have just heightened my feel-good level today for the thought of having all of you in here! This place is nice because of the nicest people around! Thanks for being one!
      πŸ™‚

  2. Stef Says:

    “Beginner’s mind”, shared from a very “unlikely” source. Clearly I need to expand my horizons, too! πŸ™‚

  3. afirmin71 Says:

    There is not one experience that you have, good or bad, that doesn’t add to the beautiful person you are. Go broaden with abandon and let the experiences fill your world.

    I read the author of the quote quickly and for some reason read Marilyn Monroe not Manson. It struck me that the same quote from different people really does make a vast difference to how you read it. Although the words are the same we look at the person behind them to see if they lived the words they say. Do you agree?

    Thanks, Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You are making me real thankful — I’m trying!

      The line is actually simple that most probably said it already but the only difference is that this star is closer to whoever quoted him, no? Marilyn Manson is just a stage name and yes the first name is adapted from Monroe.

      We tend to validate the words spoken by looking whose mouth it came from but we really can’t know the entirety of the person. What I know is there is so much to learn from each other — by example or the opposite.

      Thanks Alan so much. You’re one of the persons who really broadens my perspective.
      πŸ™‚


      • “We tend to validate the words spoken by looking whose mouth it came from but we really can’t know the entirety of the person. What I know is there is so much to learn from each other β€” by example or the opposite.”

        That is so true. You are a very humble woman. The way you have set up your blog…introducing a thought and asking others to share, and then considering their thoughts…our thoughts, when actually you are bright and discerning. You would make an excellent school teacher, because you help people to think and as a result they learn. I bet you are an outstanding mother! πŸ™‚

        I also really liked Alan’s phrase “broaden with abandon”. I like the word “abandon” when it is used that way. Awhile back when I wrote that entry about you (The Lovely Violet)I was considering a follow up series titled(In Sweet Abandon) and saved part of it in my drafts. πŸ™‚

        Theresa

        • bendedspoon Says:

          Ahaha!
          You just made my day Theresa!
          because…
          1. My Mom is a teacher
          – thank you for appreciating her indirectly. I love her so much!
          2. I am not an outstanding mother — just loving and appreciative of the littlest things!
          3. I am praising God because I do ask Him to help me what I should write about. If you observe, most are just born from the thoughts shared in the comments. So it actually came from all of us! Sometimes I even ask Him the courage to post it because my choice of words are limited but what the heaven — what He says I do! You will never know who learns from the wrong I do! yay!

          I never thought that broadening our horizons altogether can be this fun! We might not agree with some of the thoughts shared but who says that the mind is the only horizon? I heart you guys! What a fluke – I can say I love you guys, right? With abandon!
          πŸ™‚

  4. Linda Lewis Says:

    You are broadening your horizons just by being here.

  5. maggsworld Says:

    That is a call to action.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I’m easing my way out of my shell but my oh my I am not even sure if out of the chicken’s shell or mandarin duck, magpie or phoenix! Got to figure that out.
      πŸ™‚

  6. jmjbookblog Says:

    That’s a quote that makes one realize that sometimes we live so marginally in life when there is so much more out there for us if we just expand ourselves. Thanks so much for posting it! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

