Some Stars Shine Brighter Than Others

11/24/2010

twinkle

“We are all born equal, yet some stars shine brighter than others”.

This is actually a comment for the quote in here and I would like to receive more thoughts on a question that I have in mindΒ so here it is now — posted! And here it is now — the question!

“And why is that? Is it because they made themselves brighter than others or others made them brighter than themselves?”

Come on now, broaden this girl’s perspective!

Yes, I’m a girl right now!

πŸ™‚

19 Responses to “Some Stars Shine Brighter Than Others”

  1. Stef Says:

    Is “brighter” necessarily better? You could change the sentiment to be “We are all born equal, yet some are taller than others” – but is taller better? Not necessarily. So, then, is shorter better? No, not necessarily. So instead of worrying about/focusing on which is better (or why), how about that energy be re-directed to simply live the best life we can, and not focus so much on how we compare against others?

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yes Stef, most agree that each of us are stars in our own way and the best one to say which is ‘better’ are the eyes that set upon it. Possibly for a child the ice cream man is brighter than the dentist and that’s great! It shows the brightness of each star! Thanks Stef for the inspiration of living life at its best!
      πŸ™‚

  2. Eric Says:

    Well, I’m going to say it’s a matter of perspective. We are all gifted according to His grace. Some have the gift of serving missionally – and I admire them for that. To me, those people really shine. I say this because that’s not my gift. Others may serve more humbly, loving, comforting, or serving their neighbor; but that does not mean that their light shines less ‘among men.’ I think we all have the capacity to shine in unique and separate ways. And I thank God for that! πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That’s a perfect example Eric!
      My first thought too is that the star and the one who sees it both determine the intensity of its brightness. And seeing isn’t just about the eyes, right?
      πŸ™‚

  3. afirmin71 Says:

    “All stars shine brilliantly in life, some are just closer to you than others.”

    Such amazing replies you have received on this line though it’s incredible. Such a wealth of minds all positive and all willing to share. Every star here shines bright, thats for sure. Especially you.

    Take care Alan.


    • β€œAll stars shine brilliantly in life, some are just closer to you than others.”

      That is so good. It makes perfect sense! I can’t believe I didn’t see that. I really liked that. πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Now you’re talking about the sun Alan!
      Brighter because they’re closer but you made me think again how true is this in real world — do we see the brightness of those near to us or they always pale in comparison compared to those from afar? Now we’re talking about relationship, no?. lol!

      And yes, everyone in here are stars enlightening each other! It lift the spirit to see cluster of stars, right?
      Everybody πŸ™‚ please!


  4. Rea, you stretch our minds! πŸ™‚

    Ann, I will try. I will think and write a post if I can, but I’m afraid it might convict me. πŸ™‚ I have had some life experiences over the past few years where in order to let the Lord shine brighter I had to turn my back on opportunities to shine for myself…it’s all about attitude…my vanity sneaks up on me at times.

  5. tonirand Says:

    Wow….

    I can’t get it at all. I don’t. (You’re making me think again πŸ™‚ )

    That’s a tough question indeed. I don’t know the answer at all but I’m hoping I can help other stars shine brighter.

    Theresa, I would love you to write further on this. May I provoke you?

    Blessings,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Ann I can’t bear thinking about the question all by myself. It won’t leave me even in the shower! And look where I am now — more stars to think about because of the different insights I got from everyone. But hey this is really great — longer shower time!

      Theresa please take charge. I’m not sure if I’m born to think the deepest thoughts like you do!
      πŸ™‚

  6. Debbie Says:

    I love Theresa’s comment! (as always! ha!) Sometimes I wish I was one more noticed by other people, but am learning that that has its own share of problems. God must know that I would do best more behind the scenes. πŸ™‚ I’ll trust Him with that and be content admiring the shiny ones!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Deb good for you that you know what you want.
      Me, I’m not yet sure where I want to be
      — front, side, behind?
      I haven’t talk to Him about this
      so maybe it’s about time that I do.
      πŸ™‚

  7. maggsworld Says:

    What comes first – the chicken or the egg? Or are they pieces of dust which catch the Light and that is what makes them shine like diamonds? Is it perspective? Is it the fact the right piece of dust is in the right place at the right time and our perspective aLights on them?

  8. jmjbookblog Says:

    Great question ‘spoon’! I believe it has a lot to do with how much we are encouraged by our parents to be who we truly are…if we are unconditionally loved by our parents and they believe in our earliest attempts at creativity then I think we let our ‘light’ shine but if we are given negative responses I think we learn to hide our ‘light’ and instead of growing brighter it slowly gets dimmer.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yes some people are like ember
      when fanned they’re brighter;
      when left as is they slowly die;
      when thrown with water they die asap!
      πŸ™‚


  9. Wow that is a very hard question. It is hard for me to know the answer, because the word “shine” can mean different things to different people, and I do not know what His personal thoughts about that were when he made that statement.

    I personally believe in two types of births. I believe in the natural birth of a child that follows a pregnancy. I also believe in a Spiritual Birth that is described in the Bible. I believe that in each of those births the ones born are equal.

    I also believe that in each of those cases some are more noticed by other people than others, but none escape being noticed by God. That makes me very glad. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

