What the Dickens am I going to write?

12/01/2010


I gathered my courage and wits to say this,

“I don’t know what to write!”

Dickens you know I am a chicken

but for Lynda I will be a wolverine!

 

Oliver Twist I am glad that you’re not twisted

despite that you were amidst a wicked environment.

What is your secret for remaining pure-hearted?

Tell us all Oliver that we may learn.

 

Ebenezer Scrooge why so sour, greedy and stingy

when your stay on earth is only temporary?

Thanks to Jacob Marley and the 3 Ghosts of Christmases

you were transformed to a generous and compassionate fella!

 

Isn’t it great to wake up with joy and love in the heart?

Wait do I hear A Christmas Carol?

What are we waiting for — let’s sing now!

Merry Christmas!

๐Ÿ™‚

Lynda thanks for inviting me to the poetry challenge even though you very well knowย that my entry is less of a poemย but more on fun and smile.

๐Ÿ™‚

10 Responses to “What the Dickens am I going to write?”

  1. SergioD Says:

    Always so gentle, cute and fun. This put a smile on my face this morning, thanks. It was constructed with such uniqueness, kudos and top of the morning to ya!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. maggsworld Says:

    That was brave and enjoyable

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thanks Maggie!
      But Charles Dickens didn’t enjoy it
      because he said this,
      “The age of chivalry is past.
      Bores have succeeded to dragons.”
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. afirmin71 Says:

    Your Christmas tale transported me through times of a child, watching Oliver Twist and A Christmas carol.

    That is a gift that could never be packaged.

    Thank you!

    take care Alan

  4. Debbie Says:

    Bendedspoon . . .you are a delight and a genius! Thank you for being brave and taking challenges and chances, all for us! ๐Ÿ™‚ blessings and love! keep poeming!

  5. echostains Says:

    I LOVE it Bendedspoon! You have some great rhymes going on in this poem:-)
    “Dickens – you know I am a chicken…” is a classic!
    You have made this poem very Christmasy too and its also got all the festive sentiments in it too! I’m putting this on the Dickens page right now! A great contribution! – thanks Bendedspoon!


Leave a Reply

