Dear Mary

12/02/2010

Dear Mary,

In 23 days you’ll give birth to baby Jesus. I know your worries since this is the first time you’ll be giving birth. I remember the first time I gave birth, I screamed a lot in pain and fear! The public hospital rejected me because they have an apprehension if they can handle me and my baby’s safety. So I have to gave birth in a clinic.

For the succeeding babies it became easier to give birth or should I say I knew better to tolerate the pains rather than scream! It might have gone easier but the pain in my heart got heavier each time. I have been trying to accept that for each truckload of joy there seemingly came with it a bundleΒ of pain. Oops where I am now? Back to you Mary.

What I am trying to say is thank you for bearing all the pains so that we can have our Savior! Thank you for being an inspiration. When I feel so weak and in pain, I think of you. Of how strong and blessed you are because you know God is with you. With me too, right?

Take care now and I will be celebrating with you — with your mamahood!

Blessed too,

rea

For Deb.

For Theresa.

For Linda.

For Jay.

For Maggie.

For Eileen.

For Amy.

For Ann.

For Judy.

For Lynda.

For Jamie.

For Tisha.

For Pat.

For Maricel.

For Stef.

For Treasure.

For Sibyl.

For Juliet.

For my Mama.

For all the Mamas who read this.

For all the women who know.

Oh God, I love these women πŸ™‚

10 Responses to “Dear Mary”

  1. afirmin71 Says:

    Very nice post and bravo to all the women as you have rightly said.

    What I always think about with the story of Mary and Jesus is the fact that Jesus was rejected before he was even born by the innkeeper. A sure message that you should always be in peoples minds that you should always help everyone not because of who they may be but just because it is the right thing to do.

    And the fear that Mary must have gone through must have been unimaginable. But that is what makes mothers so great.

    Take care Alan

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yes, help because it’s right.
      And if we help based on who they are
      are we truly helping
      or we’re expecting something in return?
      Thanks Alan for acknowledging the greatness of moms, of women. When men do that they seem great too. lol
      πŸ™‚

  2. Debbie Says:

    Oh sweet one! I’m crying over the song, our Jesus, His mama . . .you and all the precious women (and guys too) here. Thank you for writing that letter. It might be to Mary, but Jesus sees it too! πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I love the song too Deb.
      In my mind I’m asking
      all the lovely women in here
      of so many Did you knows.
      Did you know that what you have is sooo precious?
      Did you know that you are always loved?
      So many Did you knows
      that sometimes we find hard to believe
      but true.
      πŸ™‚


  3. Rea, What a wonderful letter to Mary. We are blessed that she bore all the pains, more than we can imagine because her son was the Messiah! Peace, Linda

  4. jmjbookblog Says:

    What a beautiful post, ‘spoon’! To praise Mary and all mothers…I wish I would have thought of it first! πŸ™‚ The first time I heard “Mary, Did You Know” was on a Clay Akins Christmas special and I fell in love with the song…it’s so very beautiful! Have a special day as a MoM and a great lady! πŸ™‚


  5. That is a great post and song.


Leave a Reply

