Thank you, God, for this good life and forgive us if we do not love it enough.

12/08/2010

– Garrison Keillor

24 Responses to “Thank you, God, for this good life and forgive us if we do not love it enough.”


  1. Love these quotes as I have my self a website with quotes about life. Thought it would be wise to share my favorite quote: “It’s the choices that make us who we are, and we can always choose to do what’s right.” – Peter Parker

  2. faithdream Says:

    Yes bendedspoon, thanking God for our life, great quote!

    Our Life is a Gift from God & what we Do with Our life is our Gift back to Him! — Thanks for sharing.


  3. Only 5 stars….wish there had been 10! Love that quote!

  4. rraineydays Says:

    I like this very much. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. tonirand Says:

    Thanks for sharing friend. (You insist on making me think! 🙂

    Ecclesiastes 7:12 popped right into my head “When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.” …

    Life is good sometimes but we still have to trust Him, yes? I’m guilty of dancing in the meadows in the good times and crying buckets of tears when it rains. Forgive me, Lord, for taking so much for granted. You have been so good to me. I have so much to be thankful for.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Ann you have to think that you may enlighten me! I am actually lost most of the times and can’t thank God enough for bringing all of you in here.

      “Life is good sometimes but we still have to trust Him, yes?” If I read this right then this one is for me back then. I was guilty of trusting more of myself and not Him during good times. Of course, I can never be successful without Him.

      Thanks for lessons learned! 🙂

  6. afirmin71 Says:

    I had a thought when reading this. I imagine that only when our spirit truly appreciates what we have here are we able to pass over to the other side. Only when we are grateful for what we have here, no matter what that may be, do we get to remove the wrongs we have done through our lives. Because no matter who you are, no one is perfect and makes mistakes, but it is how you react and repair those is what defines the person you become.

    Lovely quote. Take care Alan

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And mine is, the life here and in eternity are both God’s gift that must be valued. But I believe that we can cross over to heavenly eternity with our acceptance of God.
      🙂

  7. Jaclyn Rae Says:

    I love this quote! 🙂

  8. jmjbookblog Says:

    I can identify with that statement…I thank God every day for His blessings but when I am not in a good place…that sends Him the message that I am not happy with what He has given me. As the years go by I realize that I try harder to always be in a place of gratitude for my life and those who are in it. 🙂

  9. Debbie Says:

    Thanking Him for all the good He has put in my life . . .all of Himself He has added! 🙂 yay Jesus!


  10. I like Linda’s perspective, too. The eternal life that believers possess that “new” life is so precious!


  11. I’m not sure what I think about this quote. Although there are good things about this life on earth, and it is full of good gifts from God above, I dare not love it too much for fear I would not desire the life that is so much better in the presence of my God in heaven. Just a thought. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Linda would love to love the here and there but it’s so challenging to love life on earth. Can I love it there when I can’t do it here? There I need another enlightenment!
      🙂


  12. That new life is always a good life! 🙂


Leave a Reply

