Blessing Tree

12/10/2010

 Come end of year we make a blessing tree and hang the things that we are thankful for during the entire year — some of it, otherwise, I need a very big tree!

This year here’s our blessing tree.

Blessing Tree

Here’s one of the things that my son is thankful for.

Here’s one from my daughter.

And here’s one of mine.

Start writing your blessings now and hang it on the blessing tree! Just grab a tree branch, put it in a vase and hang your blessings!

Now tell me how can we not thank God the whole year?

🙂

22 Responses to “Blessing Tree”

  1. Lies Says:

    I love the idea of a blessing tree – a ‘real’ Christmas tree, I would almost say! It helps to write down things (and people!) you are grateful for, it is so easy to forget … .

  2. lifeofbee Says:

    what a wonderful idea!!!!! this is great!

  3. Eric Says:

    What a great idea! And on my tree:

    I’m thankful
    for friends who
    help me see
    Him!

  4. echostains Says:

    Aw what a lovely idea:-)

  5. maggsworld Says:

    This is an idea I would like to implement myself with children and grandchildren. I have so very much to be thankful for myself.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Do it Maggie and show them in print how thankful you are for them! They can keep it afterwards in their treasure box or simply tuck it in their hearts.
      🙂

  6. afirmin71 Says:

    What a beautiful idea!

    This year I will be grateful for all the wonderful people I have met online, like yourself. People who have inspired, touched and warmed my heart. Even though I have not so many of these people I feel connected through time and space spiritually. Every time I see new words upon their blog it is like seeing a shooting star across the sky. Every time it makes you smile and every time it takes your breath away. This year I am grateful to you and all the people who visit here and are touched by your spirit.

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Alan, truly meeting everyone in here is such a great blessing! Very capable individuals yet so humble and appreciative! Where else can you find someone like that? From those who have a broad mind and a good heart — Thank God!
      🙂


  7. Rea, What a wonderful idea! When we went to the Museum of Modern Art in New York this summer, there was an exhibit that was a wishing tree, and you could put a wish on a piece of paper and tie it to the tree. But I like the blessing tree better because it focuses on being thankful for what we already having instead of looking for more! By the way, I’m thankful for blog friends like you, too! Peace and gratitude, Linda

  8. jmjbookblog Says:

    Absolutely precious! I never heard of a Blessing Tree but I must create one, too! What a special way to celebrate the season of Advent and the coming of baby Jesus. The other day my six year old grandson came home from school and told my daughter “Do you know that some of the kids think that Christmas is about Santa and not baby Jesus?” Out of the mouths of babes! Have a special day and may your blessings multiply! 🙂 I’m so glad I found your blog! 🙂


  9. That is a great tradition! It is so sweet to see what your children write, too. 🙂


  10. Blessings Tree — Perfect! You are such a great Mom!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      We had fun doing it
      and counting our blessings!
      Make this as one of your workshops.
      Not necessarily leaves
      — last year we had balls of blessings
      and birds are nice too.
      🙂

  11. Debbie Says:

    I love your blessing tree! Rea, you are putting so much of Him into your children. It makes me cry! Thank you for sharing this beautiful tradition and helping us grow our thanksgiving to Him too.


Leave a Reply

