I learned that you should feel when writing, not like Lord Byron on a mountain top, but like child stringing beads in kindergarten, – happy, absorbed and quietly putting one bead on after another.

12/13/2010

– Brenda Ueland

18 Responses to “I learned that you should feel when writing, not like Lord Byron on a mountain top, but like child stringing beads in kindergarten, – happy, absorbed and quietly putting one bead on after another.”


  1. I don’t think I read it right the first time. This is a really good post! It really is a lot like the way you described it. 🙂

  2. jmjbookblog Says:

    Wow! What a great analogy regarding writing and so very true! Great quote! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. tonirand Says:

    I like! 🙂

    This is cool. Very nice … I’ll try to remember this the next time I can’t get my thoughts together.

    Blessings
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yup Ann, so cool!
      I see my kiddos’ smile
      and the shine in their eyes
      whenever they join me
      stringing beads!

      And hey, I miss your thoughts
      — post it!

      Oops you now have the latest,
      thanks for sharing!
      🙂


  4. This quote made me smile thinking of you putting one word after another into your posts. 🙂 Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Makes me smile too Linda
      how gutsy I am to post
      with just simple words
      and quirky thoughts.
      Sometimes I imagine raised eyebrows
      that look so real but I love it
      — they make me smile!
      🙂


  5. I liked this, and it reminded me of one of my favorite quotes! 🙂

    “I believe the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens, but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one another softly, like pearls slipping off a string.”-L.M. Montgomery

  6. afirmin71 Says:

    Every bead makes the smile grow larger 🙂 Lovely quote.

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That’s why I love being a kiddo
      I can smile with my work
      without worrying about the approval of adults
      — but sometimes it can’t be helped
      adults volunteer to enumerate the flaws.
      🙂

  7. maggsworld Says:

    Thats just how I feel when wiriting or painting or sketching or cooking for a multitude and then some. Superb quote.

  8. Debbie Says:

    What an encouragement, sweet Rea! Not to worry, eh? Just do what we love, what He puts on our hearts to do.

  9. mariqia Says:

    You always leave nice quotes!


Leave a Reply

