When I left Queen’s my future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does.

12/15/2010

– Anne of Green Gables

21 Responses to “When I left Queen’s my future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does.”


  1. Love this quote…sometimes not being able to see around the bend is the exciting part.

  2. Marinela Says:

    I love that quote bendedspoon , nice one πŸ™‚

  3. Debbie Says:

    I have never read Anne of Green Gables! Oh no! I am missing out, aren’t I? Will have to catch up when I can.
    The quote quiets me with its simple faith and trust in the unseen hand of a good God. Thank you so much!
    And I so agree with Theresa . . .I love the good we find here. You bless us all soooo much!


  4. I really liked this one. It points us right in the direction we always need to be … having faith. Just because we may not be able to see around the bend, doesn’t mean that there is anything to fear. We just always have to look within and tap into our faith. Thanks for this quote and the reminder.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I always appreciate your alternaview Sibyl!
      Yes, unseen doesn’t mean something fearful
      and faith doesn’t seem to recognize fear.
      πŸ™‚


  5. Rea, I don’t know what’s around the bend, either, but I know Who is there, and that makes all the difference in the world. Even if there’s trouble around the bend, which often there is, He will be with me in it. Peace, Linda


  6. I love this quote, too. Are you ready for a laugh? I put it up on facebook about a week ago! πŸ™‚

    I am so glad you are becoming acquainted with Anne. She has been a very good friend to me. You just must read all of the other books, too. I wish I could have had her around when I was growing up, too.

    It is a constant battle to look for the good, believe there is, was and will be good. But we are so blessed when we do look at it that way.

    That is one of the things I like about you. You remind me of the good when I come to your blog. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You’re indeed a fan of L.M. Montgomery
      — thanks for introducing her!
      And I intend to read all of Anne series
      — so much fun to be her friend!
      πŸ™‚

      • bendedspoon Says:

        Theresa I would to like add this one from Anne at end of chapter 19 –“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world”.

        Amen to that because everyone in here now is a kindred spirit!
        πŸ™‚

  7. tonirand Says:

    I have no clue what’s around the bend but I know Him who holds the future in His hands. I have to believe that He has my interest at heart and that He will order my steps

    Thanks for the poke!

    In travel mode,
    ann

  8. jmjbookblog Says:

    I love that quote…sometimes it’s hard to be optimistic when we have a lot that we are carrying but the best way to be is to believe that something good is always around the bend! πŸ™‚ Great quote!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It’s lighter and more exciting journey
      when you are expecting something good
      but sometimes I insist on carrying heavy baggage and prepare myself to face the monsters.
      What an alien I am!
      πŸ™‚

  9. maggsworld Says:

    Scarily as this sounds, they screened Anne of Green Gables and a sequel last week.


Leave a Reply

