Design is not making beauty, beauty emerges from selection, affinities, integration, love.

01/13/2011

– Louis Kahn

17 Responses to “Design is not making beauty, beauty emerges from selection, affinities, integration, love.”


  1. […] Also you can check out this related blog post: https://bendedspoon.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/design-is-not-making-beauty-beauty-emerges-from-selectio… Alexandria Heating Repair Posted in Bungalow […]

  2. mariqia Says:

    Where there is love there is beauty..:)

  3. Ann Says:

    Made me think of Psalm 139:14 “I will give you praise, for I am strangely and delicately formed; your works are great wonders, and of this my soul is fully conscious.”

    Is this beauty from the inside or the external beauty that dazzles? Either way, I praise Him for I am fearfully and wonderfully made!

    Choosing to think I’m beautiful by design,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And I thank God for the beautiful design of you!
      Thank you for sharing the beauty of His design!
      He is truly amazing for designing us to the see the beauty of His design and be the beauty itself!
      It’s all designed huh 🙂

  4. E Stelling Says:

    I like this. Well, not much I do not like LOL

    Design

    Do not fight it
    Etch it into our soul
    Says he; so much about who we are
    It’s God’s way of
    Giving everyone their own
    Necessary, architectural blueprint

    Okay that was my Acrostic poem for the day- designed for you!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow thank you for this beautiful acrostic poem!
      You design with love and I see beauty!

      Yes we got to love, not fathom and question, what He has given because it’s what we need and it’s beautiful — if only we see!

      And thank you again 🙂

  5. maggsworld Says:

    There is innate beauty which design can unfold and enhance and nudge into light and view, too.


  6. that one made me think and think…went round and round! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Me too! Hopefully I could hear the thoughts of others and see the beauty in each one. What I understand is if a thing is chosen and loved, it’s beautiful.
      🙂

  7. afirmin71 Says:

    Design comes from love and is loved by others. The cycle of inspiration that connects people and moves them in ways they could never understand. Design is everywhere. Great quote, I REALLY like this 🙂

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I love design – the creative thinking, logic and care put into it. Designers must be very excited for the response on the outcome.

      I know one great designer and his name is Alan! 🙂

  8. Debbie Says:

    ooops. I meant beauty emerging from love. 🙂

  9. Debbie Says:

    Oh I like this! I like thinking about design emerging from love. 🙂


Leave a Reply

