Dear Poetry

01/16/2011

What about us?

Sorry really dear poetry

I’m still confused of our affinity.

Yes, I do appreciate it

That some see in me a poet

But really it’s just a few lines

That sometimes rhyme.

If only they knew

Each time they invite me

To join a poetry rally

My first thought is, “Oh my God I know it’s challenging

But I’ll do it for you —  that you may see them smiling!”

 

For Linda of Lulu’s Musings who wants to see me at Promising Poets’ Parking Lot.

And my blog friends, I’m sure you will appreciate the invitation From Darkness to Light.

🙂

35 Responses to “Dear Poetry”


  1. Awww you are a wonderful poet =). I still have no idea why I’ve been invited to the rallys lol I very much enjoy them but I know what you mean they are challenging!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Awww you just made me smile! The thought in there is still true today. The rally is for you, you write remarkably. Hugggs and blessings to you 🙂

  2. Scent of my heart Says:

    And here is an invitation for another challenge

    Hi, how are you?

    I am Blaga from Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    You are invited to join Monday Poetry Potluck Week 20, we are open Sunday 8pm, American Central Time, will remain open for 72 hours,

    if you fall short writing a theme related piece, feel free to share 1 to 3 old poems…Best Regards.

    Hope to see you in..sign in to follow our blog if you can!

    We value your support and would be more than happy to see you share…

    Best Wishes for your day.

    Week 20 Theme: Peace, Relaxation and Spirituality

    xoxox

  3. Scent of my heart Says:

    I’ve got a smile on my face for sure! I loved it.


  4. Sometimes I feel exactly the same. But when someone smiles, or just reads my “lines that sometimes rhymes” it brings me joy


  5. Your poetry is awesome because it comes from the heart and is filled with such JOY! I love it, and so does Jesus. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Linda for seeing beyond words. You learned so well from Him and I love it — I love how you bless us with it! I love to learn too!
      🙂

  6. Linda Lewis Says:

    Ahhhhhhh! I’m proud of you.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh Linda! The moment I hit publish I run and said to God, “It’s up to You how you want to surprise silly me who exposed herself to real poets.” And I thought I heard Him laugh.

      He did surprise me with all of you in here smiling and with great gift of encouragement!

      Thank you very much for wanting to see me at Jingle’s place. Sweet torture but worth it — He is laughing! Can somebody please make a poem out of that?
      🙂

  7. booguloo Says:

    If I had a camera you would see a big smile on me…

  8. danroberson Says:

    I perspire and I tire,
    Right down to the wire,
    Refusing to quit the fight,
    Knowing I want to write,
    Toiling even under the moon,
    Learning from bendedspoon,
    And others who pen even one,
    For therein lies the fun,
    Powerful words simple and sweet,
    Are there for everyone to eat,
    I can live by stagnant pond,
    Instead I grow by writing on.

  9. dragonkatet Says:

    Seems we are always our own worst critics, eh? I liked this piece and am glad that you’ll continue to write! 🙂

  10. afirmin71 Says:

    Things outside of our comfort zone will always make us unsure and the little voice inside will try to convince you it’s safer not to go. But go, and enjoy yourself. I am sure you will really have a great time. I love poetry and would love to be able to go to such events, unfortunately there are few here in the Middle East. For me poetry is so individual and yours really does show a sense of humor and wit that you have along with a very interesting slant on the world, Go! Enjoy!! and let me know how it went 🙂

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement Alan!
      Poetry is so profound for me and I honestly do not understand some of it. But I enjoy reading the comments; how it’s interpreted by each individual and I wonder if it jibes with the thought of the poet. That said, I’m aware that my interpretation may not be always in harmony with the poet but I’m thankful that they’re the ones who try to understand me, lol — hello Debbie!

      Alan there are so many poetry challenges around. Promising Poets’ Parking Lot do it every Thursday and our good friend Lynda of echostains and Bookstains regularly have a poetry challenge with interesting subject. Here’s the link http://bookstains.wordpress.com/ — join and let the poet in you shine too!
      🙂

  11. lolamouse Says:

    Sometimes I feel the exact same way! 😉

  12. jmjbookblog Says:

    I wish I could write poetry like yours,’spoon’…it’s so clear that it comes from a place of love…thanks so much for sharing the inner you. You’re special. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Jay, you made it all easier for me to be just me. It’s such a great gift that I’m grateful for — bottomless! When you are allowed to be yourself, you can’t help but feel the love and share it, right? Hugs and love to you!
      🙂

  13. Debbie Says:

    Go sweet ‘spoon! I’m cheering for you! You create beautiful poetry AND smiles. A combination hard to beat! And for some reason, this verse seemed like it wanted in here . . .

    “The Lord your God is with you . . .He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with his love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zeph. 3:17 NIV

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh Debbie, you are God’s cheerleader!
      If only you can see me smile right now because you gave me a very beautiful vision through that verse. Love you Deb!
      🙂

  14. Jingle Says:

    Happy Rally.
    🙂

  15. Jingle Says:

    what a witty and funny verse,
    lovely talk on it,
    Glad to have you in…

    Have fun!
    Happy Saturday!
    🙂

  16. echostains Says:

    You are a poet bendedspoon – and you have the spirit and inspiration of a poet! Don’t fight it 😀


Leave a Reply

