Woohoo I’m Coming!

01/20/2011

“Have you done something wrong?”

That was my initial reaction when my son said that his teacher requested for a meeting the other day. I was worried.

Then I met the teacher and heard these:

– I’m proud of your son. I and all his teachers have nothing but praises for him.

– Last week we had an observer in math subject and surprisingly he mentioned a bible verse to which your son is familiar with and shared his own thoughts. I’m impressed because I myself am not a bible reader.

– He got 5 perfect scores in periodical exams including math.

– At 9 years old I must say that he is responsible and think beyond his age.

– I can see a great potential in him.

You bet I’m a grateful Mama! I said to God, “Is this why I’m called? Because you have a downpour of blessings for me? Oh God, you are amazing! Thank you for you! Thank you for the awesome people that surround my kiddos!”

But what made me pause is the fact that for the many times that God called me my initial reaction was worry. “Oh God, what is it this time?” Honestly it’s traumatic and I feel guilty that despite that I know how He loves me my immediate reaction is He will subject me to pain once more and forge me.

In time I want to answer God’s call without fear but with anticipation of great blessings; of unsurpassed love; of wondrous transformation. I want my initial reaction to be:

“Yes Lord, I can go through another fire until You forged me to Your desire!”
“Yes Lord, I’m coming to receive your overflowing blessings!”
“Yes Lord, I am ready for Your love!”

It’s not easy I’m sure but just because it’s not easy it can’t be done. I can be excited and let the tears fall at the same time when I run to Him, right?

How do you respond to God’s call?
🙂

24 Responses to “Woohoo I’m Coming!”


  1. Rea, I want to always be excited about His call, too, even if He calls me into more trials to forge me in the fire. I know it is to draw me closer to Him. But I must admit that when I suspect trials are coming, or in the midst of them, my first thought is not always excitement and complete willingness to go. But go I must and go I do, because the second thought is always His reminder of His amazing love. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you for mentioning the second thought. Just like second chances, I’m grateful that we could do better. And thanks to Him who understands and still love us!
      🙂

  2. timothybrianturner Says:

    Great story. I had a similiar rection last week when I met a woman at a basketball game, and she asked me, “Is Christian your son?” I thought “Oh no.” Then she said, “I have him in one of my classes. I must say I like him. He’s a great kid.” So, I understand the teacher requesting a parent meeting worry.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      We worry despite that we know we have good kiddos. But then maybe that’s it, we fear of hearing bad news. Our reaction is just normal — it’s about time to level up! lol

      Blessings to you 🙂

  3. Jacqueline DeWylde Says:

    I try to respond to God’s call without too much rebellion. Sometimes that’s a struggle but most of the time it’s just a wonderful flow between the two of us. Thanks for another great thought provoking post! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow I want to experience that ‘wonderful flow’ between God and me! To be engulfed by His peace and love!

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Blessings to you!
      🙂


  4. I know what a wonderful thing that is to get such a good report, and my heart was so moved by what you shared about your initial reaction when the Lord calls. I can be like that, too.

    “In time I want to answer God’s call without fear but with anticipation of great blessings; of unsurpassed love; of wondrous transformation. I want my initial reaction to be:

    ‘Yes Lord, I can go through another fire until You forged me to Your desire!”
    “Yes Lord, I’m coming to receive your overflowing blessings!”
    “Yes Lord, I am ready for Your love!’”

    That is my desire, too. What a wonderful thing to pray! Thank you for putting it so well!

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Got to change that just as I want my kiddos to come to me excitedly because they know they will receive hugs, kisses and word of blessings from me. And on the times that I correct them, they know and hear that I love them still.

      Will pray more for that wonderful feeling in response to His call! Love you Theresa!
      🙂

  5. afirmin71 Says:

    I am so, so, so pleased for you! May god always bless him and keep him on the right track. I have had quite the opposite with my son who has struggled at school but I am confident things will turn around for him as he is trying very hard.

    This is wonderful news, Take care Alan.

  6. Debbie Says:

    Oh I’m so happy for that good report about your son! yay!!! Celebrating and rejoicing with you tonight! 🙂 Once, when I hadn’t known Him for very long, I was asking for forgiveness for this and that . . .feeling guilty. The list was looooonnnngggg. And I heard Him call me then. He said my name . . .and then He told me that He loved me. I melted. I think I hear Him calling you right now too, to tell you that He loves you and is so proud of you and your family. Me too!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I am sooo touched by your good news, Deb. Thank you so much for bringing me joy today — you owe me a box of tissue though. Love love to you!
      🙂


  7. Rhea! What a wonderful Son. What a Wonderful Mother. What a Wonderful God.

    For me God is wonderful ALL the time. I’m just not wonderful when I question the wonder of it all.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! You are wonderful to me and to Him and to everyone whom shared your heart, time, and laughter! Thank you and have a wonderful day Judy!
      🙂

  8. Ann Says:

    That’s wonderful news, Princess.

    Happy for you and your little darling 🙂

    Beautiful song for a beautiful moment.

    Blessings upon you and yours,
    ann

  9. jmjbookblog Says:

    Oh,I’ve had that same reaction,’spoon’, and I am trying to remove the negative worry that tries to grab me right off the bat…it’s a life’s journey…a work in progress. 🙂 Congratulations to your son and to you for doing such a fantastic job raising him right. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It’s a constant struggle but it can be beaten because we’re on the winning side. Got to belong to the team — I have 4 kiddos who must belong to the winning team; who must be great teamplayers all for Him!
      🙂

  10. Eric Says:

    ‘Spoon, I praise God for you and your kids! It’s such a joy to get that kind of feedback from your child’s teacher!

    It is difficult, sometimes, when I get ‘the call’ from God. But I realize that the initial fear, trepidation, whatever is the enemy’s attempt to steal God’s glory!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Eric! I suspect that God has so many good things to say about us if only we are willing to listen with all our hearts. Enemy shoooo!
      🙂

  11. echostains Says:

    Aw you must be very proud of your son
    bendedspoon 🙂 This is a great and all so true observation that you make though – why do we automatically expect bad news when it involves authority? We do need to believe in ourselves more. But unfortunately we are oh so human 😦

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I am with all my kiddos and I pray that they touch lives positively. And as for the worries, it may stem from society’s norm to call someone’s attention when they do something wrong; not with something good. But as you said, we’re human.

      But there are some who prefer to bring good news as well, like this teacher. He’s the first one to call me and share good news which my kiddos have accomplished too in the past. Truly a great day!
      Have a great day too, Linda! 🙂


  12. You just lit a fire in me with this posting! You’re right often we worry verses thinking on the positive side not knowing what God is up to behind the scenes. Your parenting gifts are obviously transparent in your son’s abilities and reports and I praise God with you in the good report!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I’m glad it did Treasure – now I’m blessed with your presence! How I wish I’ll stop worrying and trust in His goodness spontaneously. I praise God too for the blessings that my kiddos are!
      Have a blessed day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

