Peace Please

01/23/2011

“Peace be with you.”

And so I used to say, at the prompting of the priest, to the persons around me in the church. And I wonder if I could send forth peace to everyone when I don’t have peace within.

Peace within, without it, would there be peace outside myself?

If the answer is ‘No’, shall we dream for peace in the world if we have not yet reached that inner peace? If the answer is ‘Yes’ wouldn’t we be at war with ourselves living in a world of peace?

I would like so much to say, “Peace be with you” but first let me say, “Peace be with me.”

This post is prompted by White Buffalo’s challenge to blog for peace.
But truly, I am wondering about peace so share your thoughts please.
🙂

29 Responses to “Peace Please”


  1. An important question posed, perhaps the only question that really counts. Peace begins in our hearts … one by one we’ll make it.

    Lovely post. Thank you.


  2. Rea, You know I love peace, because I sign off every WordPress comment with a prayer of Peace from me. Your post reminded me of Romans 12:17-19, which says: “Never pay back evil with more evil. Do things in such a way that everyone can see you are honorable. Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone.

    Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say,

    ‘I will take revenge;
    I will pay them back,’
    says the Lord.”

    Rea, I think you are right that we must have the peace of Christ within us first, then we must do allw we can, with God’s help, to live in peace with others. We can model peace, teach peace, and love peace. But, sometimes when the world refuses peace and it is not within our power to maintain peace around us, we must stand up for the Truth God has given us rather than hang onto peace for its own sake.

    I pray you feel His peace within and are able to live in peace with those around you. I pray that for us all. Peace, Linda


    • I did my bolding wrong. “Do all that you can to live in peace” was supposed to be bold, not the whole rest of the post. Sorry. 😦 Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yes Linda, the topic made me thought of you
      — the peace spreader 🙂

      “…we must stand up for the Truth God has given us rather than hang onto peace for its own sake.” As always, your deep thoughts made me pause some more and hopefully I can fully comprehend this before the year ends.

      Thank you Linda for the prayers, for me and for everyone. I so needed that.
      🙂

  3. Ann Says:

    Trusting Him to make us ‘instruments of His peace’. It pains my heart that there’s so much ill in the world today caused by the pain of selfish living. If we decide to give what we want returned to us, life as we know it would change for the better!

    Thank you for this wonderful thought. May our peace be found in Him and may His peace be upon us all.

    Blessings
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I missed this one — Peace! 🙂

      I have to agree with selfish living as one of the causes of world’s ailment and unrest. Selfish living that we sometimes disguise as ‘needs’.

      Did the following thought cross our minds?
      – How many pairs of shoes that socialite need to be contented and be at peace?
      – That somebody else with only 2 pairs of shoes also asked that question about us.
      – That somebody who can’t walk also asked the same question to him.

      I think most of us, if not all, have their own selfishness until we reach that point when we not only know what matters but prove it as well.

      If I seem lost in here — Peace again to everyone!
      🙂

  4. Debbie Says:

    Thank you for the beautiful song and the thoughts about peace. I really loved that part about you saying “Peace be with you” to one another. To me, I see that as saying “Jesus be with you”. . .and with me too! What a beautiful thing to say and pray for each other.
    I think we can have Peace (Jesus) without having peace like the world is thinking of. Thinking of Him saying that we will have troubles and trials in this world, but He has overcome. That if they rejected Him, we can expect to be rejected too. Those things don’t sound too peaceful do they . . .and yet Jesus came to be peace on earth, good will toward men. He is peace. I don’t think we can find peace or know it without Him.
    Forgive me if I have said too much and not made any sense! Peace be with you, sweet Rea!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      What you have said means sooo much Deb! You have brought Peace in here and I’m more than blessed!

      I’m glad that you and Theresa appreciated the song. That song is so special — I didn’t find it, it is here on His perfect timing and even my kiddos can’t help but smile.

      Ahhh peace! 🙂


  5. “Blessed are the peacemakers”…

    This is a really good post and a beautiful song.
    Your thoughts make sense. It reminds me of that passage that talks about wanting to remove a splinter from a persons eye when you have a beam in your own eye. We must have peace within…be at peace with the Lord. Then we can have that peace (one of the fruits of the Spirit) that passes understanding. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Theresa for being God’s messenger! I am beginning to experience that peace doesn’t mean silence from without; not even from my mouth. Peace is the silence within with Him.

      And as for whatever matter is on my brother’s eye, face or his whole being, that I don’t mind anymore because I know it will matter to him eventually — magical things could happen with it! Moreover, I don’t trust my eyes with my 200/200 vision. lol

      Thank you Theresa, you matter so much! 🙂


      • I really did like this post and both the words and images in the video added even more impact. It reminded me of a couple songs and an old post of mine. I reposted it today.

        Love, Theresa


        • I missed something! I need glasses…my eyes mess up sometimes. I just read your post again and saw this for the first time:

          “If the answer is ‘Yes’ wouldn’t we be at war with ourselves living in a world of peace?”

          I can’t believe I overlooked that…such a profound statement…I am so glad I just now saw it! 🙂

  6. afirmin71 Says:

    That’s a wonderful way to look at peace. Yes I feel you have to have peace within you. Be sure of yourself and you will not doubt others intentions so much. Be peaceful of mind and you can quell the anger in another’s actions. Without peace inside you surely cannot expect peace to come your way, as your eyes are closed to it, for now.

    Have a great day, Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      “Without peace inside you surely cannot expect peace to come your way..”

      I so agree with that. The heart must give space to peace thus, must take out whatever won’t make peace at peace.

      At peace with you for trying hard to fit in my response to your thoughts. lol

      Thank you Alan! 🙂

  7. jmjbookblog Says:

    Makes me stop and ponder, ‘spoon’. Not an easy answer…but I know there are days when I extend peace to those I met even when inside I am not at peace with myself. Perhaps when we give peace to others it comes back home to roost. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Right Jay, not an easy answer. We may seem to know the answer but if we haven’t validated it ourselves then doubt creeps in. Validate validate and I see love when we sincerely wish for others what we don’t have. I wish you the best love there is!
      🙂

  8. eric Says:

    Ah, ‘Spoon, it seems like it should be so easy, doesn’t it? How often do we think, “Why can’t THEY live in peace? Wouldn’t the world be better if EVERYONE were at peace?” I tend to think that inner peace is necessary, but now, I’m thinking this is a proposition much like the chicken and the egg (which came first?). Of course, God is in there (or should be) and as God is love, His is the way to peace. ~ Whew, good thought, thanks for sharing 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That chicken and egg thing has long been challenging us. After reading your response a thought suddenly came — not who’s first but who could surely deliver the one into existence providing that both were made at the start. And the thought is, a chicken won’t always lay egg; an egg will always hatch chick. What do you think, could this give us a peace of mind? lol.

      Now to focus on human, “Why can’t THEY live in peace?” — I ended that question when I found out that there is perfect timing for everything. And sometimes the right time is in the midst of war.

      Thank you so much Eric for bringing love in here!
      🙂


  9. I believe that what is inside is reflected outside and what is outside we accommodate to and take in.
    The cycle can be broken. That’s why God gave us free will.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ‘The cycle can be broken.’
      Judy that is soooo empowering! It’s a good mantra — The cycle can be broken. The cycle can be broken. It is broken! It is broken!

      Max kiss your human for me! 🙂


  10. Thank you so much, bended spoon for blogging for peace! Your very serious question leads to another: What would it take for you to have peace within in order to spread peace outside? Is it our internal ‘wars’ that lead to all the external wars?
    Shanti Om/Peace

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I actually post this for you but I’m glad that it gave me an opportunity to hear from wonderful people who are at peace or working for peace. Got to learn something by asking.

      And for your questions, the answer is getting clearer and slowly putting me at peace. I am not yet sure where the war started, outside or inside — but somehow I know that there will be lesser casualties if I extend warmth instead of wrath.

      Here’s my salute for your peace rally!
      🙂


  11. A-wonderful-man!


Leave a Reply

