The real differences around the world today are not between Jews and Arabs; Protestants and Catholics; Muslims, Croats, and Serbs. The real differences are between those who embrace peace and those who would destroy it; between those who look to the future and those who cling to the past; between those who open their arms and those who are determined to clench their fists.

01/23/2011

– William J. Clinton

25 Responses to “The real differences around the world today are not between Jews and Arabs; Protestants and Catholics; Muslims, Croats, and Serbs. The real differences are between those who embrace peace and those who would destroy it; between those who look to the future and those who cling to the past; between those who open their arms and those who are determined to clench their fists.”

  1. Seuhle Says:

    This is so true; there is so much wisdom in this sentence! It is a good reminder to all of us, of the power each of us has, the power to make this world a better place 🙂

  2. ladynimue Says:

    Totally true !! May more people get some sense 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And I volunteer myself!
      I need some sense every time I destroy my peace within; every time I look back in the past and hate someone else; every time I want to clench my fist because the one who ordered later than me was served with food first. World War 3 here I come!

      Now I have to forgive my forefathers for being the cause of World War 1 & 2.
      Now we can rally ourselves for peace 🙂

  3. meirozavian Says:

    Two thumbs Up.
    Lovely one for sure.


  4. The real difference today, as always, is between those who are proud and those who are humble. Peace, Linda


  5. Yes, the Lord has sheep from every place on this globe. He has promised that He would bring them into his fold(John 10:16) He can do what no one else can…and that makes me very glad indeed!

  6. echostains Says:

    And that difference makes a LOT of difference :-0

  7. Debbie Says:

    Thank you sweet ‘spoon, for always reaching out and touching us with your thoughts and prayers and quotes. 🙂 Reading this quote makes me think of when my eyes are more on the differences than on the One Who makes a difference to us all. love you!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I love that one Deb — The One who makes the difference to us all! Yes, if we focus on that it will be Appreciation Day each day!

      I appreciate you with love Deb 🙂

  8. afirmin71 Says:

    Such a wonderful quote.I’d go for opening arms over a clenched fist every time.

    I guess Bill was thinking about Hilary when he wrote this 🙂

    Have a wonderful day, Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha!
      And here’s from Hillary, “In the Bible it says they asked Jesus how many times you should forgive, and he said 70 times 7. Well, I want you all to know that I’m keeping a chart.”

      You think arms were opened? 🙂


  9. What a great post! I have to memorize this one! It is a great quote that we should all carry within us. Thank you for sharing it.

  10. jmjbookblog Says:

    He couldn’t have worded it better! Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the world John Lennon ‘imagined’ came to be a reality in our lifetime! 🙂


  11. Great post, wonderful reminder that we have a choice as individuals. Herds are for animals who are great but can’t reason.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Max that’s what I love about you — you know that you can’t reason but I still find you reasonable! That’s something really special because humans, including me, supposedly must act reasonably but don’t always succeed.

      Peace Max! 🙂

  12. Kim Nelson Says:

    Wisdom.
    I am grateful you share this and happy I read it.
    Blessings!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I am grateful that I have the opportunity to share it and happy that we’re happy to read it!

      Thank you for the blessings you bring and the blessing that you are!
      🙂


Leave a Reply

