But inside, I’m going, ‘Oh my God, is my zipper up? Do I have a booger in my nose?’ That’s my inner monologue.

01/28/2011

– Leah Remini

28 Responses to “But inside, I’m going, ‘Oh my God, is my zipper up? Do I have a booger in my nose?’ That’s my inner monologue.”


  1. me? is that you? I totally have the same inner monologue 🙂


  2. […] vs Mental Posted on January 30, 2011 by treasure4life Does your emotions ever match you […]


  3. Oh my goodness this quote is hilarious! 😀

    I had this very thought, is my zipper up, when I walked into a room to meet with friends today. Perfect timing on this post!!


  4. LOL! Oh how we worry about what might embarass us most. Thanks for the laughs, supremely bended one.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      oh yes! Sometimes it’s due to past embarrassing experience that we got so paranoid that it will happen again. That’s how it was to me when I felt embarrassed by a PE teacher’s remark and my classmates laughed. But now I learned to laugh about it — indeed I was like a bunch of coconut when I tried tumbling and failed to roll! lol

      It’s great laughing with you! 🙂


  5. LOL! Our inner monologue…I call it my inside voice, other personality…cuz you know I have many and not afraid to admit it. Today, I am a bad azz chic who is invincible, tomorrow I will probably be a geek studying for the bar exam. lol None-the-less, we all have a bit of insecurity going on with us throughout the day….good thing it’s our inside voice because, again not everyone can handle your booger, much-less be kind enough to warn you that it’s hanging before you face another person. It’s not like some people were born without them 🙂

    Thanks for the laugh and invoking thoughts!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Ahaha!go go! go for that lawyer talk until you are reminded that you have the right to remain silent. lol.

      I plead guilty to not warning somebody that his booger was out but I changed already — I now got the courage to say, “uh there’s a dirt in your nose” or “in your eyes”. Sometimes it’s uncomfortable to be kind but it’s easier than guilt.

      Thank you so much Treasure for sharing your thoughts — I always appreciate it!
      🙂

  6. Darya Says:

    haha..those two questions are always floating around my mind…and this one: Am I talking to myself out loud again coz people are starring again 😀

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! They are staring at you because they wish they can. lol. This morning I did 15 rounds of walking in the park. Each time I completed a round I said, “God loves me. I love Him. I am healthy, wealthy (in so many ways), positive and happy!” In the last few rounds I said it loud in gratefulness. Some stared at me and must have thought, “What the heaven is going on?” I just smiled because I know what is going on!

      Here’s to talking more to ourselves positively!
      🙂

  7. PinkLady Says:

    i do get that kind of inner monologue at times.. and sometimes, it’s even worse. 😀

  8. Ann Says:

    Hmmm

    I wonder … 🙂

    I hear men have a ‘Nothing Box’ – I guess that’s where they are when we’re sorting through all our other ‘boxes’

    Nothing Box Video : – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L29KmQxEA3E

    Blessings
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh yes that nothing box! My hubby and I watched the full version of Mark Gungor’s Laugh Your Way to a Better Marriage and we had a good laugh from start to end!
      🙂

  9. jmjbookblog Says:

    I LOVE Leah Remini…she’s the reason I watch The Talk! 🙂 Thanks for posting this great quote of hers…I’d love to have her for my bff…she tells it like it is! 🙂

  10. afirmin71 Says:

    I feel happy for her that this is the only inner monologue! Mine seems to be more like a Shakespearean play being acted out all day long! Lol

    Take care Alan

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! Really, you too?! And what could be going on in your mind when you excel in the things you do? Wait, what’s that in your nose? lol
      🙂

  11. Debbie Says:

    I think I should maybe have that inner monologue at times . . .to save myself some embarrassment. ha! Good thing God gave me a sense of humor, so I can laugh at myself! (and go get a tissue)

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! oh how I love you Deb! That inner monologue is not good at all. I once fainted in church because of that and was about to faint again in my school audition — good thing the judge called me to step out because I’m not qualified. lol.
      🙂

  12. Jacqueline DeWylde Says:

    Isn’t it funny how we torture ourselves sometimes? I once read somewhere that most of our fears are tisue paper thin and a single courageous step will carry us right through them. I forget that a lot. LOL. Have a blessed day!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I was once sooo like that! And now thank you for mentioning the word ‘torture’ — ugghhh how can one be so bad? From now on I’ll be a little kinder to myself. lol.

      Just tissue paper thin? Oh my, how could I have scared myself with that? Now it’s about time to wipe that fear! May God help me remember always or is it may I remember God always?

      Thank you, I’m so blessed today thus I’m sharing it with you!
      🙂


  13. Me, too. It is so noisy in my head when I appear to be quiet. It makes me so awkward in crowds! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Women never rest even when they seem to be at rest. It’s either they are loving themselves or others. It’s seldom that they don’t care, I think.
      🙂


Leave a Reply

