Are we to paint what’s on the face, what’s inside the face, or what’s behind it?

02/02/2011

– Pablo Picasso

16 Responses to “Are we to paint what’s on the face, what’s inside the face, or what’s behind it?”


  1. I’m personally not a fan of Picaso’s art style, however, I adore his quotes.
    This is definitely one of my favorites ❤

    Continue to paint with your words(:

    <3burningbeacon

    • bendedspoon Says:

      This quote has so much to ponder upon especially when you observe the sea of faces all around.

      Thank you for bringing that ❤ in here — really appreciate it!
      🙂

  2. Ann Says:

    Dear Thou-who-makest-me-to-think,

    This one is really running around in my head. (From the comments, I see I’m not the only one with the thinking cap on. I like the thoughts!)

    To think or not to think, that is the question … I think, therefore I shan’t!

    🙂 🙂

    P.S. – this is a really good one. Thanks you!
    ann

  3. faithdream Says:

    Hmmm. good question. I tend to think of tears of a clown. There’s a smile on the face, but deep inside they are crying.

  4. afirmin71 Says:

    We are all many layers of paint. Each with it’s own colour and texture. Each complimenting each other. Yours is a beautiful rainbow that always has a pot of gold at the end in the shape of lovely words.

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Oh another kind hearted artist. Thank you so much Alan for adding colors to my life. We are all rainbows each time we add beauty to somebody else life.
      🙂

  5. echostains Says:

    Well in his case, he managed to do all three!(and all at once) What an artist eh 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Lynda you’re the artist here so you can see the things that the artist see; that I don’t see! I appreciated Picasso’s ingenuity and his paintings made me wonder, “Who is unstable, the subject or the painter?”

      Now that I hear it from you, that he managed to capture all three dimensions then it explains why there seems to be multiple personalities in each painting.

      Thank you Lynda now I can see Picasso’s work differently.
      🙂

  6. Debbie Says:

    You are making us think again, Rea Sunshine! Maybe only God could paint what’s inside and behind the face? We could do self-portraits and paint what we see inside ourselves, or someone else could paint what they think is inside of our face and behind it . . .but I think I’d like His version better! 🙂 God bless you and all that is inside and outside of you!

  7. jmjbookblog Says:

    That’s a great question…each would probably be a different face…except for those holy people whose faces would all be one and the same. 🙂 Something I strive for everyday. 🙂


Leave a Reply

