The fish in the water is silent, the animals on the earth is noisy, the bird in the air is singing. But man has in him the silence of the sea, the noise of the earth and the music of the air.

02/04/2011

– Rabindranath Tagore

26 Responses to “The fish in the water is silent, the animals on the earth is noisy, the bird in the air is singing. But man has in him the silence of the sea, the noise of the earth and the music of the air.”


  1. Love it. Beautiful quote. Thanks for the pointer in the direction of silence.

  2. Lisa Says:

    That’s deep, deep as the ocean the silent fish are swimming in.


  3. That is really true, and it is amazing when I pause and think about it. 🙂

  4. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Thou-who-makest-me-to-think 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. I’m still turning this over in my mind but for some reason, two scriptures came to mind as I read.
    Sometimes we hear Him in the ‘loud and noisy’.. sometimes in the ‘still and quiet’.

    Psalm 42:7 ” I hear the tumult of the raging seas as your waves and surging tides sweep over me.” (New Living Translation)
    1 Kings 19:11-12 “…Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.”

    Blessings,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Ohlala you just blessed me with that truth Ann! I had just a battle with my noisy mind and I’m so badly hurt but He whispered gently, “Hush, remember my promise?”

      And I remembered 🙂


  5. Wow. I have never before heard this one! You come up with the greatest quotes ever!!!!! Thanks for passing along this wisdom.

  6. maggsworld Says:

    I do, and always have adored Tagore. he has such an eloquent gift…

  7. Jingle Says:

    love the quote.
    🙂

  8. faithdream Says:

    …. and the mind of a farmer with a heart of gold.

  9. Bupinder Singh Says:

    thats very true. cause man has brain but it does works properly he forgot who gave it to him….
    nice lines buddy

  10. Debbie Says:

    I am going to have to keep thinking about this one! 🙂 You always bring us the most interesting pieces. For some reason it reminds me of a post I read today. It talked about how the animals just knew to get in the ark with Noah. No one had to talk them into it or bribe them in with food. I’m not sure what this has to do with your quote . . .ahahaha!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Uh because the animals never doubt who their creator is? And this ties very well to the quote because…because we want to! lol.

      Do you think the animals on the earth are noisy? Could a herd be noisier than 1 man? Now I’m doubting Rabindranath. lol
      🙂

  11. afirmin71 Says:

    And doesn’t man let everyone know it! LOl

    I love this and this is the Bengali poet who won the Nobel Prize for literature I believe. Quite the renaissance man!

    Great stuff, Take care Alan.

  12. Chatter Master Says:

    I read it three times because it felt so powerful and yet peaceful. Thank you.

  13. jmjbookblog Says:

    Beautiful quote…and so true! Thanks for sharing it…you find such awesome ones! 🙂


Leave a Reply

