An optimist may see a light where there is none, but why must the pessimist always run to blow it out?

02/07/2011

– Rene Descartes

17 Responses to “An optimist may see a light where there is none, but why must the pessimist always run to blow it out?”

  1. Linda Lewis Says:

    Happy anniversary a couple of days late. Toasted with sweet lemonade.


  2. If you are an optimist don’t let the pessimists discourage you. I agree that we have both of them in us. Some people are more optimistic,though. My husband has a tendency to be more optimistic, but he has helped me a lot. I have great admiration for those who are more optimistic, and pray that the Lord will help me, and He really does! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa, I used to be on the pessimist side and there are occasions that what I exactly conjured in my mind came to life. So I decided that I might as well think of wonderful things and true enough I have them!

      I sometimes fail and think negatively but most of the times I’m positive. It’s not easy to reverse the way your mind works for a number of decades. It’s a struggle which can be won through constant prayer and faith in His promises — and the belief that I deserve all the good things He is offering.

      Are we happy to see our kiddos afraid in our loving presence? God must be like us too.
      🙂

  3. Ann Says:

    That’s a very good question :d

    Why must you make me think? 🙂


  4. But what does one do when both the optimist and the pessimist are within? Rely on God, I say! Peace, Linda


  5. What a beautiful post. Happy Anniversary. HH and I celebrate 51 years this year. Been a lot of lemonade over the years, some sour, very sour to sweet and very sweet. Thanks for dropping by. Blessings to you and your loved ones.
    QMM

  6. jmjbookblog Says:

    I saw myself and my mother in that quote…when I am excited about something she seems to get pleasure out of creating doubts…I wish I knew what it was in her childhood that caused her to be this way. Because of this attitude I always make sure that I support and encourage my children in everything they are passionate about…life is difficult enough…but at least they know I am always on their side. 🙂

  7. afirmin71 Says:

    it is a battle within us. We all have both, but who wins is up to us. Which do you allow to win every race in your mind???

    Nice quote, take care Alan.

  8. Debbie Says:

    Laughing . . .I have some pessimists in my life. 🙂 It’s hard to talk to them some days for whatever I’m excited about gets shot down . . .blown out. . .stomped on. haha! I just have to talk to them about their things and sympathize a lot. 🙂 And remember that the joy of the Lord is our strength.
    love you, oh Queen of Quotes!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Deb it’s challenging to be with a pessimist especially if the person is so close to you. I lose confidence in my dreams and it hurts because my heart wants those dreams. On the other hand, it makes me pray to God harder; to fire me up like a rocket that I may leave behind the naysayers! lol
      🙂


Leave a Reply

