No Gain, No Pain?

02/25/2011

Earlier this week I read 10 Signs the Economy Is on the Upswing.

And I’m sharing with you the 10 signs plus my side comments 🙂

  1. Sales of Boxers, Briefs Leveling Off – new undies!
  2. Desserts Are in Again – sweet too!
  3. Less Sorrowful Searching – smiley!
  4. The Venti Latte Makes a Comeback – ground taste!
  5. Box Rebound Reflects Rising Demand – just in the box!
  6. Fewer Urban Dwellers Are Hoofing It – hello cabbie!
  7. Duffers Returning to the Greens – golf time!
  8. Faces, Other Parts Getting a Lift – +13M gone under the knife!
  9. More Willing to Play Their Hand – gambling life!
  10. More Couples Are Calling It Quits – game over!

There are signs that made me glad, sad, and very sad.

I’m very sad for sign number 10.

What is it about money that loosens the bind of marriage and family?

  1. Because it can buy a spaceous house and leave each other alone?
  2. Because it can make you hold so much except each others’ hands?
  3. Because it can buy time thus no need to rush home to the family?
  4. Because it can make you dream big and leave the family behind?
  5. Because it can buy toys for the kiddos thus no need to bond?
  6. Because it can spill over thus keep it in someone else house?
  7. Because it can buy you a new face and nose and heart?
  8. Because it can treat the problem to a shopping spree?
  9. Because it can buy friends, love, and respect?
  10. Because it can make you forget how to kneel?

Money money money…

Prayer warriors please share your prayers for the family, marriage, and handling of finances. The world needs the Word.

🙂

24 Responses to “No Gain, No Pain?”


  1. Very well wrought and well written, my dear. I concur on all points … and I just loved that movie!

    Blog on …


  2. Good message,hope many stumble upon it.

  3. Linda Says:

    Money is boring, whatever the economy. Think about Solomon and the book of Ecclesiastes… a chasing after the wind.

    The 10 signs about the economy are quite a puzzle. I live on an island near a fishing village of 3500. A vente is where your dryer blows out hot aire. I think I’m happier doing it my way! 😉 Fun post!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      “Vanity, vanity, all is vanity…it is an unhappy business…”
      Unless we are chasing the wind of the Spirit 🙂

      Money is boring, however some have to experience having so much to know how true it is. I learned that the money could multiply a hundred fold to what one used to have and still the worldly self couldn’t feel fulfilled. One can’t chase fulfillment — it must be welcomed.

      Yup the 10 signs confused me too and if those were the effects I am not sure if I’m happy at all. But then I believe that there are so many people committed enough not to belong to statistics of grim effects.

      Here’s to happy and meaningful living Linda! 🙂


  4. Spoon as I went line by line, it made me sad to see how much we’ve fallen when all the while we thought we’ve been ballin’. The very simple things in life we take for granted, we all should be ready to panic. Where money and things seem to rule our wings and money pulls our strings. We as a society continue to stoop to all new lows, as the next generation takes the blows.
    Marriage is such a sacred place, one many go in a haste. It’s sad to see the waste.
    Not many take it seriously, for most its like a temporary cure for thee. Does anybody know what Love should be? I’ll tell you, it’s a sad place when we finally look at our on face in this thing we call the rat race.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow there’s so much in here and the rhymes made me read it like a poem!

      Yes we have fallen so much but seeing you and everyone else in here validates that it is possible to rise up again; to encourage and support those who wants to rise up again.

      Agree, so sad to see marriages go to waste when most started with love. There may be some who don’t take it seriously but for those who do it’s still a tough challenge most especially if we are not plugged to the source of love.

      I myself have no perfect marriage. It’s not rose petals everyday. On days that there are no rosebuds and flowers yet I got to deal with thorns — nasty painful thorns. And guess what, eventhough the roses bloom already the thorns are still there. The 2 are parts of the whole as created by God. It’s just a matter of choice of what to focus on — flowers or thorns?

      Wishing you a garden full of beautiful thoughts today! I appreciate you so much Treasure!
      🙂

  5. afirmin Says:

    Wow 13m+ having surgery is very sad! What kind of a world are we creating when people feel so badly about themselves they need to do this? I understand medical reasons but I am sure your number is mainly about vanity. Guess we know why it’s one of the deadly sins!

    This is a wonderful post though, Thanks.

    take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I am not even sure if they will acknowledge that they feel bad about themselves when the term use is ‘enhancement’. Times has change so much that surgeries are now only compared to concealer and make-ups; bribery as token of appreciation; profanities as expressions.

      We’ve gone a long long way. Which way? Praying that we get back on the right track; the right Rock.
      🙂

  6. Debbie Says:

    You did such a great job with this Rea Sonshine. I was happy to hear desserts are in again, at least. 🙂 Thank you for leading us to pray. We really can’t do that enough! God bless you!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Desserts, please pray for me about that too Deb because I learned that a slice of pie is around 450 calories and I suffer when I can only have one. huhu

      What’s your favorite dessert? 🙂

      • Debbie Says:

        I’ll pray for you and you pray for me, okay? haha! I’m not a big pie person, but oh my . . .there’s not much else that isn’t my favorite. That’s bad, huh?

  7. maggsworld Says:

    Much to ponder here.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      So much! The U of my smile from reading the 1st sign slowly dropped until it end up to straight __ and I’m sure it can turn into an arch, if possible!
      🙂

  8. mariqia Says:

    Love this post Rea. Wonderful. Reality.


  9. Boy this was a good post. It gives us lots to consider. I remember a country and western song that was popular when I was a little girl. It was called “Two Story House” and was sung by Tammy Wynette and George Jones.

    A few months ago I read a blog post about this subject that had some really thoughtful insights. Here is the link:

    http://graceassault.blogspot.com/2010/11/wisest-prayer.html

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Theresa for sharing that! I’m putting the lyrics here for me to ponder upon.

      Two Story House Lyrics

      We always wanted,
      A big two storey house,
      Back when we lived in,
      That little two room shack.
      We wanted fame and fortune,
      And we’d live life the way the rich folks do.
      We knew some how we’d make it,
      Together me and you.

      With dreams and hopes of things to come,
      We worked and never stopped.
      Not much time for you and me,
      We had to reach the top .
      We bought that big two storey house,
      And soon became the envy of the town.
      With all our work behind us
      We’d finally settled down.

      Now we live, (Yes, we live.)
      In a two story house.
      Whoa, what splendour,
      But there’s no love about.
      I’ve got my story,
      And I’ve got mine, too.
      How sad it is, we now live,
      In a two story house.

      The house is filled with rare antiques,
      There’s marble on the floor.
      Beauty all around us,
      Like we’ve never seen before.
      There’s chandeliers in every room,
      Imported silks and satin all about.
      We filled the house with everything,
      But somehow left love out.

      Now we live, (Yes, we live.)
      In a two story house.
      Whoa, what splendour,
      But there’s no love about.
      I’ve got my story,
      And I’ve got mine, too.
      How sad it is, we now live,
      In a two story house.

      How sad it is, we now live,
      In a two story house.
      🙂


  10. Rea, What an excellent post! #10 signs the economy is getting better makes me sad, too. I thought of the Beatles’ song “Can’t Buy Me Love.” People think money can buy them love, but it can’t. Jesus said we can’t serve both God and money. Since God is Love, we can’t serve both love and money. We all need some money to survive, but when people put all their trust in it instead of God, that’s when things go wrong. Thank you for calling us to pray for families, marriages, and handling finances in a Godly manner. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      So true Linda! You can’t buy love. It’s just an illusion and too late to realize it when the lover goes with the money as it flew out of the window! God never do that — leave us in times of scarcity.

      Thank you for praying! 🙂

  11. jmjbookblog Says:

    You hit the nail on the head with your 10 reasons money loosens the ties of marriage and family…so very sad and I pray that the world turns around and does it soon. (I feel that some video games and TV programs teach too much violence and hostility…if only there were as many peaceful games and programs for adults and kids to watch. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Sad too about some of the video games and TV programs. These video games were designed to make the players addictive to the games. Sometimes the kiddos are forced to steal just so they could play the game or became violent themselves. And yes the TV, what were once considered as indecent are now exposed for the whole world to see or to hear.

      Let’s pray that these kids have a connection to real humans, not the animes. And may adults act as real humans, not animes.
      🙂


Leave a Reply

