Superhuman

02/28/2011

Some expected me

to be a superhero

I tried

But I could not

Sufferhero maybe

I was cutwoman

Incredible sulk

Wandering woman

Until I was saved

By the Supremehero

For Jingle Poetry on Cartoon, Sci-fi, Superhero

For our lost heroes.

Real heroes are here

Touching lives with care and cheer

Superhuman friends

For my friends thanks for the hero in you.

🙂

93 Responses to “Superhuman”

  1. Joshua H Wu Says:

    Wow! God has blessed you with so much wit in your poems!

    Our God is the Supremehero!

  2. Little Liu Says:

    I love the concept of “sufferhero,” I would have never thought of it. I also like how the tone changes suddenly at the end from kind of negative through the poem and then bam. Positive tone. You’re great.


  3. Love these lines:
    “Sufferhero maybe
    I was cutwoman
    Incredible sulk”

    Especially love Incredible Sulk! 😉


  4. It’s not always easy, but actually I think must of us come through when we have too.

    Well considered. 🙂 Bravo!

  5. Cheryl Says:

    “Wandering woman” caught my attention immediately. We are asked to be superheroes when it’s not quite that easy. Brilliantly written.

  6. tasithoughts Says:

    Your mastery of words is reflective in your work. Good job!

    JP

    http://tasithoughts.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/superpowers/

  7. cloakedmonk Says:

    What a great series. Sufferwoman…be gone!

  8. rmpWritings Says:

    Love the superhero word play…made me smile…which to me is a definite superhero worthy power!

  9. bward42 Says:

    That was so inventive! Well done, it was really different to what I was expecting. I love the e. e. cummings channeling I picked up here!


  10. All I can say is “I love this poem”…I like the quote/message at the bottom of this page:

    “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. I think you just have to appreciate who you are and hopefully they can see what a superhero is about.”

  11. hannah Says:

    Ooo I really like this, especially “Incredible sulk” and “Wandering woman”! Such a lovely poem 🙂

  12. mstevensson Says:

    I really like the style you use in your first piece. Was really interesting. Your word play is phenomenal!

  13. lolamouse Says:

    Very clever and humorous yet had a serious message at the same time. I love the names you gave your “heroes.” I truly enjoyed this piece!


  14. This is cool! I liked the twist:)

  15. Mike Patrick Says:

    I believe I have met you many times, but you have so many faces.


  16. This is both wise and well-written. Thank you.


  17. I forgot to mention that your post was clever and touching. I wanted to see if I could come up with a super hero title. Maybe I was the “lone stranger” 🙂

  18. Jessica Says:

    Humorous yet warming too. I loved it!

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/sci-fi-hi/

  19. Jingle Says:

    love it..

    we do need super heroes..

    A++
    🙂


  20. I love the touch of humor ixed in with some real insight! Excellent take on the theme. I went another way – here’s mine:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/it-is-as-if-i-dreamt/

    BTW, in the last line, do you mean Supremehero or Supermehero – They both work, and didn’t know if it was “Super Me Hero” or “Supreme Hero” Both good – no matter! Just curious!


  21. Your writing reminds me of a song, Hero… Yeah, there’s a hero if you look inside your heart.. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I’m looking and feeling and truly it is here! Everyone can be hero who can at least save someone’s day with a smile, sincere appreciation and good thoughts. And good deed? That’s super!
      🙂

  22. magher1 Says:

    this one made me smile;) deep and funny at the same time… great idea of playing with names… cutwoman ha!

  23. Ina Says:

    Beautiful! You are the Poetryhero? 🙂


  24. I really enjoyed that. I also wanted to thank you for participating in my latest Limerick-Off. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I heard and learn limerick for the 1st time in your place. I had fun reading all the limerick comments and making my own too! Thanks!
      🙂

  25. Debbie Says:

    Rea Sonshine . . .you are doing such an outstanding job here – writing poetry, blogging, and glorifying your Supremehero. I could so relate to your poem!!! God bless you, saved and precious one!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Super Deb, you know how scared I am with poetry but I take the plunge and pen for Him in my own simple way. My heart overflows to those who try to appreciate!
      Thank you for continuously touching my life 🙂

  26. Jaclyn Rae Says:

    Love this post! 🙂

  27. fiveloaf Says:

    very nice poem.. also this song really brings back memories of my school days.. here’s my potluck.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/cinderella-for-a-man/

  28. Sam Says:

    Our superhero always lies within…beautiful.

  29. jmjbookblog Says:

    You said so much in so few words…beautifully written, ‘spoon’! Have a special day! 🙂

  30. Scent of my heart Says:

    SO much truth in so very few words, we all try to be superpeople, but sometimes we all need a little bit of help, when the super trouble surround us …


  31. Rea, I love the poem! I wasn’t much of a superhero either, until He came along and gave me the power of the Holy Spirit! Now, because He who is in me is greater than he who is in the world, I can overcome the greatest supervillan of all, which I guess makes me a superhero.

    Also, thanks for the wonderful video. I remember that song from when I was a kid! Peace, Linda

  32. afirmin Says:

    I watch a lot of old war documentaries and the ones I like most are the ones where the real soldiers talk about their experience. Like in Band of Brothers where they show all the amazing men who went through this incredible story. But the thing that stands out to me is the main hero of the entire mini series, Dick Winters, a man respected and loved by the men who reported to him when he talks about a question he was asked by his grand daughter, “Grandpa, ” She asked, “Were you a hero in the war,” And Dick Winters replied, “No my dear, but I fought in a division full of heroes.” To watch this man who himself was a remarkable man talk like this is just incredible. Also you hear the men talk about the fact that the real heroes are the ones who never came back. A different time, a time of respect that we can only be grateful for their superhuman heroics.

    By the way, you are my hero! 🙂

    take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I admire them so much too Alan. I sometimes wonder where they get the courage to go out there in the field despite their pain in leaving their loved ones behind; where they get the courage to hear bombs and cries when a yell alone made me shiver and ricochet in pain.

      Sometimes I get lucky when someone saved my day when I find it hard to save myself. Sometimes it’s you who saved my day so that makes you my hero too! Thanks for the double smile today!
      🙂


      • Your comments move me to recommnd to your both a remarkable book called “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand (the author of Sea Biscuit). It is a narrative history that reads like a page turner. Once you start it, you won’t be able to put it down – I guarantee!

        • bendedspoon Says:

          Thank you Paula for the recommendation!

          Alan, let’s grab a copy now of Unbroken. If it’s the author of Sea Biscuit then it must be really good!
          🙂

  33. Katherine Says:

    Sufferhero maybe

    I was cutwoman

    Incredible sulk

    Wandering woman —> These lines injected humor to your poem. I enjoyed reading it. Well done 🙂

  34. Olivia Says:

    Beautiful indeed!
    Very nicely expressed.. 🙂
    Keep writing- this was wonderful!!

    Hugs xox

  35. Reflections Says:

    Wonderful write… loved the memories of the song. 🙂

  36. Reggie Says:

    I also like the play on the Super Heroes…loved the ending.


  37. This was good. I laughed when I played the song. When I was a little girl about 7 years old I think I had that song on a 45 record. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Sad story but the kiddos and I enjoyed the song and danced with the tune!
      🙂


      • Yes, it was sad. I was just so surprised when I played it….it had been so long since I heard it. It brought back these memories of me and my friends and our little record players…haven’t seen one of those payers in ages. 🙂

  38. Kim Nelson Says:

    Terrific concepts here. Many women feel the same…

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I’m glad that you appreciate it!
      Yes there are a lot of sufferwoman out there.
      May they find their superhero within or without and finally have a sincere smile on their face.
      🙂

  39. A.B. Thomas Says:

    Great word play!

  40. dragonkatet Says:

    This was terrific wordplay, spoon! 🙂 You know, one of my favorite superheroes uses “SPOON!” as his battle cry! lol Ever watch “The Tick”?

  41. Aleza Says:

    Ha! I know many sufferheroes. I really love what you did with the potluck theme, and how you turned things around!

  42. danroberson Says:

    Loved your play on hero names and Supreme hero. Great poem and on the theme.

  43. redroom10 Says:

    haha..Cutwoman, Incredible Sulk and Wandering Woman. Brilliant 🙂


Leave a Reply

