We think too small, like the frog at the bottom of the well. He thinks the sky is only as big as the top of the well. If he surfaced, he would have an entirely different view.

03/03/2011

– Mao Tse-Tung

31 Responses to “We think too small, like the frog at the bottom of the well. He thinks the sky is only as big as the top of the well. If he surfaced, he would have an entirely different view.”

  1. Panda Wolf Says:

    That’s a very powerful quote and although for the frog it was a well, many of us have different things that keep us from seeing the whole picture.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Could it be because of the human brain? We can even create an invisible impenetrable wall with it. What makes me wonder is how we can not jump with it.
      Thank you for sharing your thought 🙂

  2. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess

    What Linda said 🙂

    I was that frog too … then I met the Prince of peace and my world changed 😉

    Transformed,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I like the twist of the story here Ann — the princess is the frog and got saved by the Prince of Peace! You crock!
      Have a hoppy day! 🙂

  3. debi Says:

    I love the way you say things in your blog! The creative settings are so fun!

  4. afirmin Says:

    And even the sky is not the limit! This is a great quote. I might stick this on my door today 🙂

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Sky is not the limit, oh yes!
      On sticking the quote on the door, ask the wifey first for you might find yourself from prince to frog!
      🙂

  5. Debbie Says:

    Oh you are opening up possibilities! There is so much I can’t imagine yet. Have to keep going, keep climbing, to see more. 🙂 Thank you so much for helping me always!!!!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you to the frogs! I like frog stories especially the deaf frog who can’t hear, “You can’t! You can’t!”

      Deb, how about coming up with a frog poem or story? Can you hear me? You can!
      🙂

  6. Linda Says:

    Hello Rea…
    Some days I’m the frog, but most of the time I am the sky… and I know it’s only by God’s grace that I find my way there.

    Today there was a mud puddle in the well, my tiny webbed feet got stuck, and I never even tried to jump. We frogs are only human.

    Your post cracked me up!! Thanks. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      “most of the time I am the sky…” I like that!

      Praying for you that whatever is keeping you in the mud puddle today will be washed away by His grace. I know whilst you are stuck in there you are sticking with Him! I want to hold your hand right now — the left one maybe because He’s holding the right one! You’re human and not a frog at this moment, right?
      🙂

  7. Chatter Master Says:

    Isn’t it amazing that we are all so capable of narrowing our views? But with guidance, or love, or inspiration or Bended Spoon we can open our eyes, or climb out of the well? Wonderful! I love these reminders you give us. So positive. Not to mention all of the wonderful comments you get from others. You pull together a lot of people’s positivity! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! Sometimes I am a frog too! Frogmented, frogile and I thank God each time He made me smell positivity frogrance — it made me leap so high out of the well!

      I’m blessed too with the wonderful comments and the positivity of wonderful people. I believe everyone wants to reach out and connect. We just have to make it easier for them — give them a warm welcome even love them or better yet pay them a visit and bless them!

      You are one of my blessings…thank you! 🙂

  8. jmjbookblog Says:

    I absolutely LOVE this quote, ‘spoon’! Just thinking about it has made me realize that I shouldn’t think ‘small’ when the possibilities God gives us are so immense. Thanks so much for a great quote…it wasn’t just about the frog and the well…it was much “deeper” than that (pardon the analogy to the depth of a well!) 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Jay it is way way much deeper! Change perspective — the frog is up and the sky is below. How deep could it get? Up to the deepest possibilities and love ever known! Let’s fall into positivity right now!
      Blessings to you! 🙂

  9. Tisha Says:

    March 3rd is my birthday, and I think this is a fitting message for me today – I will gift myself with remembering to look up and all around me for inspiration today. Thanks for another beautiful reminder!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Happy happy happy birthday Tisha! I am positive that you will welcome that gift wholeheartedly and best of all share it! Huggggggs to you and I’m truly deeply happy for you! I’ll take just one slice of cake, okay?
      🙂

  10. Becca Givens Says:

    Oh, this is so true! If we just would not put restrictions or limits on ourselves.

    The Celebrate Poet of Spring 2011 Awards: Awesome and well deserved! ~becca~

  11. By Baylis Says:

    Rea,
    I just finished reading Emma Donoghue’s tour-de-force, “Room”. It is the story of Jack a five-year old boy who has spent his entire life in a eleven-foot square room, imprisoned with his mother by a fiend who abducted Jack’s mother when she was a teenager, who repeatedly molests Jack’s mother, and who turns out to be Jack’s father. Jack’s only contact with the outside world is a sky-light, a few National Geographic books and a small TV with very limited reception. It is thought-provoking and heart-wrenching to watch Jack begin to understand first that there is an outside world, and then what the outside world might be likebeyond the two-dimensional images from the TV and the books, and to watch Jack’s Ma try to nuture and protect Jack and to show him that there is a God and that God really does loves them and has not abandoneded them. Jack has no concept of father. Ma has shielded Jack from his biological father, the monster, Old Nick, by hiding Jack each night when Nick comes to visit and bring them any necessary supplies. The only real person, Jack knows is Ma. The book makes one think about what is really out there beyond one’s immediate line of sight. It also makes ont think about what one is doing to help others see another world and escape to it.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is a very interesting read! Would like to check that book because in some ways, if not all, that could be very real — imprisoned by a crazy being. How these people survive and keep on clinging to God never fail to amaze me and yes God’s plan!

      May we become the instrument of freedom for those who are imprisoned — within four walls or the walls of the mind.

      Thank you for sharing and blessings to you! 🙂

  12. Gwenyth Says:

    I will remember this one


  13. Rea, This is a great quote! It reminds me of 1 Corinthians 13:12: “For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” I am always amazed at how much more I see in terms of possibilities with God than I did before I knew Him. I used to be like the frog at the bottom of the well, but He helped me surface and see the bigness of the sky. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I’m glad you included the verse Linda — just what I need! Then I shall know fully… I have so much to learn and thank you for the many things I learned from you!
      🙂


  14. I love this analogy! Thanks Spoon! Keep’em coming!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Treasure, could it be that some of the prince charming are living inside the well? Shall we dare to kiss the frog prince? Croak – king!
      🙂


  15. This is one I really want to think about. Statements like this that offer images that express a truth always grab me. The Lord is using my blogging friends in a big way lately. I am so glad you posted this! I thank you and I thank Him. 🙂


Leave a Reply

