I Don’t Like Lady Gaga

03/05/2011

Nope you won’t hear from me at this moment that she is daring and crazy.

You will hear from me that yesterday my 3 year old daughter was singing — no make that humming. I told her, “Keep on singing and I’ll take your video one of these days and upload it on you tube. Lady Gaga might invite you to her next concert like what she did with Maria Aragon”.

“I don’t like Lady Gaga” — there, she’s the one who said that!

“I like Jesus” — she actually said that!

Case closed. No argument.

I just smiled and said, “Wow that’s great!” and I hugged her and kissed her and called my other kiddos and shared to them the happy news and heard them all say, “Wow!” and enjoyed the smiles and…!

Now back to Lady Gaga. She is daring and crazy!

She is daring to not fit into the mold when most want to be like somebody else!

She is crazy to risk herself to be hated and labeled weird!

How about you, do you like Lady Gaga?

Whether you adore or hate Lady Gaga it doesn’t matter as much as asking yourselves with, “Am I daring and crazy? Daring and crazy for what? What am I willing to risk for that?”

Know what? I actually want to listen to Thia Megia sing What A Wonderful World.

It is a wonderful world. I want to see the wonderful world.

πŸ™‚

23 Responses to “I Don’t Like Lady Gaga”


  1. We would love to have you and your readers join our Christian forums here: http://www.TheologyForums.org

  2. Bodhirose Says:

    I saw Lady Gaga in an interview recently and it seemed like she wants to make a positive difference in the world–I’m all for that! Have you heard the lyrics to her song “Born This Way”. Beautiful!

    She’s still very young and is getting attention in whatever way will get her message out there. I don’t fault her for that and certainly most of us know to look beyond the outside appearance of someone and look to their heart and soul. I don’t really know her so am limited by what I have heard her say and the messages in her music. She’s not been busted for drug or alcohol abuse or any sex scandals–yet. I hope she doesn’t fall to those depths.

    Her outlandish outfits and appearance seem harmless.

    However, I did not appreciate the meat dress!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Most, if not everyone, have something to say against somebody so Lady Gaga must have thought that she might as well do everything she can to be seen and heard. Yes she can make a positive difference in the world of those who agree or not agree with her ways. Isn’t it positive to practice understanding and self-assessment to see how we are faring to a higher standard than that of the world’s?
      Have a fantastic day! πŸ™‚

  3. eirc Says:

    That’s a good question, ‘Spoon … about what am I willing to be daring and crazy? Of course, ‘Jesus’ rolls off my tongue. But that’s not completely true. I am SOMETIMES crazy and daring for Jesus. Other times, I am afraid to do so. Forgive me, Lord; give me strength.

    BTW, Thia has an amazing voice!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You blessed me so much Eric with your honesty! You are humble as ever that’s why the likes of you succeeds in reaching out those who need to feel that they are loved too by God. I pray with you for the much needed strength that you may have more coffee dates under the tree! *wink*

      Yes Thia’s voice is amazing and to think she’s only 15 years old! I’m glad my eldest daughter showed her to me.

      God bless you Eric and keep on blessing! πŸ™‚


  4. Dang spoon! Talking about food for thought. Lady Gaga, I’ve been like what the heck since she has been out. But you’re right she is definitely a leader, daring and crazy and those are qualities to be admired. Are we like that for what we believe in???

    Secondly, for your daughter to make such an profound statement….train up a child in the way she should go…..Kudos!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That’s the best question Treasure each time we are baffled by something that catapult to stardom that don’t go along with our preference/belief. They have passionate followers! And if we want to show that what/who we want is much deserving then why can’t we be as passionate?

      On some days I wonder if my kiddos absorb what I teach then the answer came at unexpected moments and I can’t help but thank God!

      Blessings to you daring one! πŸ™‚

  5. afirmin Says:

    How sweet!

    What I like about Lady Gaga is the fact that it is not only on stage that she lives her bizarre personality run wild, but everywhere. I think she shakes up the plastic garbage that music companies are churning out at the moment, what happened to real music? I am not talking about her music but anything that breaks that monotony is fine with me! And she certainly does that πŸ™‚

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Read this from her, “I just felt like a freak, I guess what I’m trying to say is I want to liberate them, I want to free them of their fears and make them feel that they can create their own space in the world”. Do you think she ‘sacrificed’ so much just to empower others?
      πŸ™‚

  6. Debbie Says:

    I don’t know much about Lady Gaga. Must have been under my rock too long. ha! But, I love that your sweetie likes Jesus! yay! It reminds me of Theresa’s post on telling about Jesus. You have that going on in your house at a young age! πŸ™‚
    I’m thinking about David dancing and singing for his King in the streets. There is a song by Matt Redman called “Undignified”. Thanks to your post, we’re listening to it right now! The words go something like:
    “I will dance, I will sing, to be mad for my King
    Nothing Lord is hindering the passion in my soul.

    And I’ll become even more undignified than this
    Some would say it’s foolishness
    But I’ll become even more undignified than this
    leave my pride by the side.”

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much for sharing the song Deb! The best way to be undignified and foolish — is to do it for Him. Undignified and foolish to the eyes of many but not to the One!
      Happiness when the kiddos know whom to praise! πŸ™‚

  7. Linda Says:

    I love Lady Gaga, Lindsey Lohan, Paris Hilton, and even Charlie Sheen. I love that when they finally come to know the Lord and start to tell people, their message will go far and wide.

    I am the daring and crazy one raising my hand at Bible Study asking that we keep celebrities on our prayer lists. We know what it feels like to be daughters of the most high King, but they’re all alone. If we don’t pray for Lady Gaga, who will… ?

  8. Linda Lewis Says:

    Lady Gaga is simply a character passing through, and she understands that to be noticed requires being outlandish. Think Madonna, Michael Jackson. Not much different.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It’s a very competitive market out there that the stars feel the need to reinvent themselves to earn the attention of the crowd. Here is Stefani Hermanotta before she transformed to Lady Gaga.

      She looks very different and I wonder how much she has changed inside.
      πŸ™‚

  9. jmjbookblog Says:

    I give her credit for getting beyond the hurt and cruelty she experienced in school being picked on and made fun of. Perhaps it helps kids in that same situation who others see as weird just because they are different and if that is the case than she has accomplished good. I think she could do it in less risque outfits, though. πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Possibly she’s fueled by the hurts she had gone through. Check this one from her, “I had a boyfriend who told me I’d never succeed, never be nominated for a Grammy, never have a hit song, and that he hoped I’d fail. I said to him, β€˜Someday, when we’re not together, you won’t be able to order a cup of coffee at the f—ing deli without hearing or seeing me.”

      Hopefully she heals and cover herself more πŸ™‚


  10. To be daring and crazy…wow. A lot of people would say I was daring and crazy when my faith in Christ caused me to step out of a comfort zone. Since then I have wondered if I was truly crazy, because I have experienced some loneliness as a result, but His grace is sufficient. πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa I admire your courage for the number of times you have given up your comforts, your personal agenda, the opportunity to sing, and a lot more for your faith. I understand being lonely in the process when there is a struggle within but eventually there will be joy…And I know you are sure of that!
      πŸ™‚


  11. Rea, I don’t care for Lady Gaga. But I do like the idea of being daring and crazy for Jesus! I don’t want to conform to the world, but to follow the Rebel to rival all rebels. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I can see it Linda in your posts and comments how you defend your faith; how you defend Jesus, with conviction and passion! Daring indeed!
      πŸ™‚


  12. For me, the novelty has worn off, but, she knows what she is doing. Pop music is more about marketing then anything else, and she does it well. People are more drawn to a horrific accident than A beautiful scene of mundane life. Maybe if I start dressing in weird outfits and recite poetry in the streets I can make bucks like her,hahaha!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! Try it! Try it! What could be your outfit in your poem β€˜Ramblings of a lunatic on a Sunday Morning’? And this time people will be drawn to something that is poetic!
      Goodluck! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

