All Mighty Role Models

03/07/2011

Lean yet mighty

Lead sharp and clear

Pushed to sharp edges

Life shortened each time

Never complained

Continuously served

Up to the very end

My mighty role model

My sharp pencil

For Jingle Poetry on Idol, Role Model and Mentor

For the mighty warrior in you.

Goliath fell down

A stone in a slingshot

Who’s the force behind?

For me to not forget the Almighty.

šŸ™‚

 

86 Responses to “All Mighty Role Models”

  1. A.B. Thomas Says:

    A truly noble role model that pencil of yours is – mine keeps on breaking off at the end – which may say more for me than it, but…i liked the bit on Goliath – often we tend not to look too far past the center stage when we enjoy a performance to see those who are behind the scenes…

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Pencils break but it comes out and lead again… Oh yes, sometimes it’s only those who have supported someone else success who will truly understand how it is to be behind the scenes…

      Your thoughts are very much appreciated! Let’s hope for the best whether we’re the lead or behind the scenes.
      šŸ™‚


  2. Well sharpened and to the point…I’d give it a #2…a #2 pencil, that is.

  3. magiceye Says:

    wonderfully articulated in verse!

  4. Reggie Says:

    you’re ending made me smile really big…

  5. dramastrois Says:

    great post! i love your interaction with God in this

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you! I love how He came to me with pebbles of thoughts. And I’m thinking, will it equate to rock if I put it all together?
      God bless you today! šŸ™‚

  6. Iwrite4u Says:

    A pencil sacrifice is neatly said in your poem.very creative…and the other was equally nice

  7. Katherine Says:

    I loved how you describe your pencil in your poem. You gave so much meaning to such a simple thing. Well done šŸ™‚

  8. ladynimue Says:

    Loved the post on pencil !!
    So true for best mentors .. they all perish but till the end they serve well ..

    • bendedspoon Says:

      They serve well because someone acknowledged with grateful heart. Let’s be on the look out for good warriors and give our thanks. They might multiply faster that way and we could mutate into one.

      Thank you for appreciating and sharing your thought! Blessings to you!
      šŸ™‚

  9. tigerbrite Says:

    I love the warrior concept. I have a black warrior at cyberluz, he keeps the light safe for me.
    Enjoyed the poem and haiku.
    I am sorry for the mom who feels the world is against her and she has to fight.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you very much for checking the entire post!
      Moms are all warriors — some with quiet courage and grace; some with claws and growls. The arena where they were exposed contributes so much…

      May the warrior that you are count your victories today and let’s hear that roar of gratitude!
      šŸ™‚

  10. David King Says:

    Superb response. Love it.

  11. afirmin Says:

    And your pencil is sharper than most my dear friend šŸ™‚

    Lovely words, as always.

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! That’s what happened when you are pushed to sharp edges regularly. It reminds me that I am a pencil — function clearly defined!
      Thank you Alan for the blessing that you are! šŸ™‚

  12. versebender Says:

    Great tribute to a valued friend and servant. Loved the concept and execution. Vb

  13. lunawitch15 Says:

    I tried to comment yesterday, but my phone broke & its my only link to the world, anyway, I was trying to figure out what it was when the l pencil l jumped out at me & had me busting up laughing! Thank you! What a great poem !

  14. TC Says:

    ”Lean yet mighty

    Lead sharp and clear

    Pushed to sharp edges

    Life shortened each time”
    its like a riddle šŸ™‚ great imagery!
    thank you for sharing this wonderful peice šŸ™‚
    happy monday!

  15. danroberson Says:

    A pencil makes a point, corrects its own mistakes, is easily tweaked when dull, and fills in the blanks.
    David dared face a giant warrior while grown men fled in terror.
    Both poems nicely done.

  16. Jaan Pehchaan Says:

    Well penned. I mean, penciled!

  17. Ina Says:

    A pencil? What’s that? šŸ™‚ Just kidding, loved it. Lean and sharp! Make sure nothing gets erased!


  18. Yep, Pencil… Hmm, a close to heart example for us, writers/poets/bloggers… Even though we are typing now but still we start of with pencils in our school years..

    Great take on this week’s theme… šŸ™‚

  19. A.T Smith Says:

    Great Haiku…at least I think it is, right?
    Good work


  20. I enjoyed the Goliath piece, so true. Happy Monday!

  21. Ann Says:

    Thanks, Princess

    Someone told me some years ago “If you think it, ink it!” … I try to do that as my brain doesn’t always cooperate!

    Thankful for the ‘pencils’ that have been supporting my walk.

    Blessings
    ann

  22. magher1 Says:

    Interesting choice of the role model ;D Nicely done!

  23. hannah Says:

    There can be no better role model for writers šŸ™‚

  24. BFG Says:

    in the digital world, it is a little easier to forget the pencil. Thanks for this.

  25. Sam Says:

    The Pen is mightier than the sword…Beautiful poem.

  26. Kim Nelson Says:

    Three great pieces, all showing distinctly different parts of you.

  27. honeyhaiku Says:

    This is just awesome…great role model.

  28. suzicate Says:

    Yes, the power of the pencil!


  29. especially liked “Never complained,Continuously served”. congratulations on your warrior mom piece.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you! May we fully utilize ourselves through service. All moms are warriors — for killing mosquitoes, for reading between the cries, for loving…
      šŸ™‚

  30. lunawitch15 Says:

    Hehe! Oh that was great! šŸ™‚

  31. Olivia Says:

    Reading this brings smile to my lips!
    A sharp little pencil proves to be the mightiest of all weapons- always šŸ™‚

    Well written Rea..
    Love xox


  32. I love this post. A nice sharp pencil soothes my spirit. And I like the analogy of David and Goliath. Good reminder.

  33. Scent of my heart Says:

    Loved your role model! Perfect Potluck contribution!

  34. Debbie Says:

    Oh this whole post was lovely and inspiring and encouraging! šŸ™‚ Having a daughter with autism, I can relate to the video so well. Other kids got to have childhoods, but these kids had to have non-stop “goals”.
    Loved the poem!!! You are just too good at this! A natural! šŸ™‚ And I know a poet whose blog is named sharp little pencil. ha!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much my warrior friend! Aubrey is so lucky to have you as her Mom who is more than willing to help her achieve each goal. Your victories are immeasurable and sweetest! Love you Deb!
      šŸ™‚

  35. jmjbookblog Says:

    I love the way one can erase a mistake with a pencil…something you can’t do with a pen! šŸ™‚


  36. I especially loved your pencil poem. What a delight!

    And thanks for stopping by and joining in on another of my Limerick-Offs. Glad to have you and your limericks!


  37. I just loved this post! And I loved the video! It is so true. God guided the stone. And our children are not “our” workmanship. I didn’t understand that when my oldest was little. I had been taught something different. We should do our best raising our kids but we are only their “trainer”…not their “Potter”.

    Thank you so much for this wonderful post!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is a very wonderful thought Theresa — we are only trainers! If the Rock guided the stone then we can ask for His guidance too!
      šŸ™‚

  38. kathe w Says:

    ah yes- our good ol’ pencils that help us get the lead out!

  39. Jingle Says:

    agree, you write masterfully, fabulous role model entry.
    Cheers.

  40. lolamouse Says:

    It’s nice to see the good ol’ pencil acknowledged! With so much writing today done on computers, pencils don’t get the credit they deserve! (as I type this on my computer!) Great poem!


  41. Don’t forget the mighty pen and digit,lol! And the super duper brain to help formulate the plan on parchment! Good poems!


Leave a Reply

