In our factory, we make lipstick. In our advertising, we sell hope.

03/17/2011

– Peter Nivio Zarlenga

25 Responses to “In our factory, we make lipstick. In our advertising, we sell hope.”

  1. Jamie Dedes Says:

    True. Most folks don’t fact it though.

    You have a gift for finding good stuff.

  2. Jaclyn Rae Says:

    My degree is in marketing, so this quote brings back memories of my undergrad classes. Very clever.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And you made me remember my marketing subject! The professor assigned me to defend why selling candles (an indulgence in here)is more profitable than having a mini retail store. When I successfully shed the light and got a high mark I never saw candles the same way again — now with love.
      Enjoy your weekend as you spread the light 🙂

  3. Baishali Says:

    Really enjoyed going through your blog.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much! Please check too the sites of other bloggers in here and I’m sure you will stumble upon something that will make you enjoy further.
      Blessings to you 🙂


  4. In my psychology classes we studied marketing. I thought it was interesting when I learned about the “big three”: ageism, sexism and racism.
    It is amazing when you look at these three topics and see how marketers use them in nearly ALL ads that are dispayed! It is a good thing to keep aware of. Knowing this will allow you to see how they are selling to you, and what may pull you towards the product. With this knowledge, hopefully we can all remember how beautiful we are on the inside!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow this is what I love about community — knowing so much more from the people who have grown close to my heart! And the best lesson from therein is ‘how beautiful we are on the inside!’
      Thank you so much Tara for being beautiful 🙂

  5. Linda Says:

    It was so kind of you to send me this award! Thank you so much… 🙂

    As you know I’m a rookie blogger, so stuff like this excites the heck out of me. Hope I’m writing this in the right place. And is there a way I can copy that little logo that says “Versitile Blogger” into my sidebar?

    Self-esteem is life transforming, too! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You are very much welcome Linda! This may not be the Oscar Award but I am so sure there is love in it!

      Now here is how to put the logo on the side bar:
      1. Using a mouse, right click on the logo
      2. Click ‘Copy URL’
      3. Go to your ‘Dashboard’
      4. In the same column look for ‘Appearance’
      5. Click the arrow beside ‘Appearance’
      6. Look for ‘Widget’ then click it
      7. Look for ‘Image’
      8. Drag ‘Image’ to the side bar on the right
      9. Open ‘Image’ then on the space for ‘Image URL’ right click your mouse then click ‘Paste’
      10. Then adjust the width and height by typing the desired number.
      11. Click ‘Save’ and ‘Close’
      12. Now check if your are satisfied with the size of the logo. If not go back to step 10 until you are pleased with it.

      Looking forward to that logo in your sidebar 🙂

  6. Linda Says:

    Whenever I go to Walgreens looking for a new lipstick, I try to find a color that will be life transforming. So you know the marketing folks are doing a good job. Love that post. Touches my heart! 🙂


  7. Rhea, Because I have so enjoyed reading your blog I am honoring you as I was honored with the MeMeTastic Blog Award.

    I have put links to your blog on my Award Post. If you wish to be taken off just let me know and I will do so.

    This is the post: http://judithwesterfield.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/its-all-about-me-i-am-fantastic-memetastic-award/

    Judy

  8. ladynimue Says:

    haha !! This is clever !!
    I got reminded of the song “Aint loed at all” .. no connection maybe .. but do try 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      oh yes! With the billion dollar beauty industry we can gauge how badly we need hope.

      Can’t find “Ain’t loved at all”. Hopefully you can include the link in here. Would like to check it 🙂

  9. Debbie Says:

    Thank you for sharing the hope you have in Jesus! You don’t try to sell it . . .you just give it away! 🙂

  10. afirmin Says:

    No one buys lipstick, they buy the perception of beauty, glamour and, yes, hope that by wearing this lipstick my dreams will come true.

    A great man, David Ogilvy (Advertising legend), once said that, ‘if the advertising didn’t sell, it wasn’t creative. They key words in the quote are ‘selling hope’ 🙂

    Nice quote, I liked this 🙂

    Take care Alan

  11. jmjbookblog Says:

    Wow! That one really made me stop and think. 🙂 But anything that helps us feel better about ourselves has to be a positive thing…even if it’s lipstick. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      If lipstick makes a woman happy I’m all for it! You can chose red happiness, orange happiness, purple happiness, pink happiness and yes, black happiness. 🙂

  12. Chatter Master Says:

    I like it! We all need hope!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It is. Made me think why I am buying a lipstick. When I was young I said to myself that I won’t use a lipstick or make-up, ever! When I was in college my aunt gave me a lipstick and I said I won’t be caught wearing one! When I got married my hubby told me to wear a little make-up and lipstick. That was so kind of him when he could have said, “Glam up woman!” — but of course my heart knows and when the heart knows it either feels sadness or happiness.

      When I first put on a thin lipstick I was so conscious. I didn’t feel like myself. Now I am used to it. I bought it for somebody else — for rea of the world.

      Now which is interesting — Peter’s quote or mine? 🙂
      Blessings to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

