May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.

03/24/2011

– Irish Blessing

34 Responses to “May the holes in your net be no larger than the fish in it.”

  1. Wanda Says:

    As a collector of quotes, I can really appreciate this one. May your week be filled with Christ presence. Blessings to you.


  2. With a maiden name Flannagan, I always enjoyed a good Irish blessing. Thank you for sharing this one. And now I will share with you my favorite fun Irish blessing:
    “As you slide down the banister of life, may the splinters never point in the wrong direction.”

  3. jmjbookblog Says:

    Yes, the Irish sure do have a way with words and blessings. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m lucky to have a grandson and daughter that are part Irish! ๐Ÿ™‚


  4. Wow. I like this one,too. I am trying to think of an Irish blessing for you. I’ve got one:

    “May you always have work for your hands to do.
    May your pockets hold always a coin or two.
    May the sun shine bright on your windowpane.
    May the rainbow be certain to follow each rain.
    May the hand of a friend always be near you.
    And may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ryan Says:

    Or if the holes are bigger, that the fish don’t find them.


  6. Amen! I can heartily agree with that quote.

    ~Jennifer


  7. Rea, What a great quote, especially if you think about it in terms of being a fisher of men. May God make sure the nets we use to bring others to Him have holes small than their doubts. ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace, Linda

  8. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings returned to you a hundredfold!

    Off to grab my fishing pole,
    ann

  9. Chatter Master Says:

    The Irish are brilliant! And faithful! Of course I love this one! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Linda Says:

    Some days those net holes are overwhelming, but only for moments at a time. Thank God He is here to mend the net, by grace, because He loves me.

    With gratitude and hugs to you, Rea! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much Linda for that thought! Who is best to mend the net but God — saving us always!
      Glad that we’re in the same blessed net! ๐Ÿ™‚


  11. A simple blessing filled with warmth.. I like this.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Debbie Says:

    I heard an Irish blessing on St. Patrick’s day, but this one is nicer. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you as you cast your nets for Him!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Deb, I really like this one too. Among others, it made me think of holes in the pocket — not spending more than what one earns. I want to hear more thoughts on this and what it really means.
      Blessings too! ๐Ÿ™‚


  13. A very clever one!


Leave a Reply

