One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.

03/28/2011

– Henry Miller

22 Responses to “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.”

  1. Artswebshow Says:

    I agree 100% with this quote


  2. I loved this quote! It is so true. It makes me think of this scripture passage:

    9For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.

    10But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.

    11When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

    12For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. 1 Corinthians 13:9-12

    It also reminded me of when Adam and Eve ate from the tree of knowledge of good and evil. They already knew good because they were able to walk with God. Eating from that tree made everything bad visible and also part of there reality.

    But when we go to heaven our eyes will be open and we will see him as He is. Our destination is so very near. This should make us so happy…we just cannot see it clearly yet! 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Theresa for reminding me to focus on my destination, that each step could take me towards or away from it.
      May I always hold on to what is good and true 🙂


  3. Hindsight is 20/20. Sometimes getting to that destination is maddening and frustrating. Yet,miraculously, once we reach the destination we have answers to the “why’s” we were seeking. Ahhh, if only God worked on our time line when we fought to reach that destination before He was ready.

    I hope that your destination is always holds bright path.

    Tara

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is so true! There were times that I actually wanted to give up my sanity and life but somebody is in control so I surrendered.
      Thank you Tara for being an inspiration 🙂

  4. Linda Says:

    I’m not ready for a “new way of seeing things…” although it would probably do me good. Sometimes my destination (whatever that is) really scares me.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Linda, I’m scared too at times but I talked to myself, “If you die of fear how could you arrive to your destination?”
      May we never break loose from the guide 🙂

  5. Debbie Says:

    This quote makes me excited about arriving and about the traveling too! 🙂 God bless you and all the ways you help us see Him each day!


  6. that’s right… and the journey is part of the destination…


  7. Wow, yeah.. new way of seeing things.. 🙂 Oh yes, TT is up and hope to see you..

    Will be checking out your poetry later.. *wink*

  8. echostains Says:

    This is SO true! A great way of describing ‘arrival’ in the true sense!

  9. afirmin Says:

    WOW! I love this!!! I have heard many ways of saying the journey/destination example, but never has it been put in such an insightful way! Lovely!

    Take care Alan.

  10. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess…

    I like this one … it’s making me think. I’ll be chewing for a while 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  11. jmjbookblog Says:

    I love that saying! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

