Black Beauty

05/09/2011

Black Β is the coal which provides heat

Black is the night where one can see the beauty of the stars

Black is the pencil lead which first introduced me to art of handwriting

Black is the tea that soothes me

Black are the olives in the numnum pizza

Black are my eyes which can see the good in you.

.
For Jingle Poetry on Color, Rainbow, and Spring

Black rainbow I see

But it won’t dishearten me

I have faith in Light

.
For Thursday Poet Rally. Thank you soooo much!

πŸ™‚

50 Responses to “Black Beauty”

  1. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom Says:

    oh how lovely!

  2. Baishali Says:

    perfect and beautiful πŸ™‚

  3. Andy Says:

    Nicely done. Really enjoyed this.

  4. dragonkatet Says:

    You know, black (in pigments like paint) is the combination of all the other colors! (In light, white is the combination of all the others). My favorite line in this is: “Black are the olives in the numnum pizza” I LOLed because I LOVE black olives on my pizza! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the smile, spoon!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      The mind can put color to anything but the challenge is to see a positive color πŸ™‚ Yes to black olives in pizza and pasta! Enjoy the day!

  5. Cheryl Says:

    This is really a great poem. You never see anything positive said about black but this makes it a beautiful color. I love the color personally and now have more reasons to do so. Thanks for sharing.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      One can see black heart, green mind, blue moments,…but somebody else can choose to see black courage, green revolution, blue sky,… Have a blessed day Cheryl πŸ™‚


  6. It’s rare to see anything positive about black. I truly enjoy this take

  7. maggsworld Says:

    Perfectly put!!


  8. I like how you chose that one color then led up to the grand finale of light.

  9. magher1 Says:

    Unique! You can even see the brightness in black! πŸ˜€

  10. chimnese Says:

    The color black you’ve done a pretty good job on this lovely in take on the theme.

  11. luna15 Says:

    you totally kicked this poems butt! so cool!

  12. Martin H Says:

    Very nice, indeed. The inner light is so precious.

    Poetry24 – News is the Muse

  13. Lyn Says:

    Totally original..it made me think in a new way..lovely!!


  14. Very nice I love the last lines

  15. Becca Givens Says:

    The light shines through the darkest of black!! Hopeful peace … and Congrats on your well deserved award!!

  16. theberrygirl Says:

    well done – nice shift in themes, seamlessly held together by the one constant.

  17. yelena m. Says:

    I like how the verse ends with so much hope for the Light. Fine work. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  18. Debbie Says:

    I love the way your black poems shine beauty and light. Just like you! hugs and love to you on mother’s day!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much Deb for finding and appreciating beauty in so many things. Happy Mother’s day too to you — you have my salute as well πŸ™‚

  19. Jingle Says:

    the color of black is cool,

    lovely ode, well penned.

    Happy Mother’s Day.
    A++

  20. Gigi Ann Says:

    Black is beautiful, esp. if it is a little black dress, shoes and purse.

  21. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess Mommy

    πŸ™‚

    I throughly enjoyed the Alphabet run. Please say you’re doing a series on colours πŸ˜‰

    Blessings,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Hmm why not? πŸ™‚ I got to smile because I remember you’re the one who suggested to Linda to go for Thankful Thursday and I love it! Huggs to you Princess Friend πŸ™‚


  22. You did a great job with the color black. It is a wonderful thing to have faith in “Light”. I hope your Mother’s Day was full of happy moments.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      The Light help us see the beauty in things and when we see beauty gratitude follows, then happiness… Mother’s day is really special — my kiddos are sweeter. Happy Mother’s day to you Theresa! You’re a great Mom πŸ™‚


  23. What a perfect take on black!
    Chris

  24. jmjbookblog Says:

    So beautifully written…thanks so much for your great words. I hope you have a very special, wonderful and Happy Mother’s Day! Hugs, JM

    • bendedspoon Says:

      When the kiddos are young each day is special so got to savor it before they grow old and be sweet to Mama only on special occasions πŸ™‚ Huggs and blessings to you great Mom!


Leave a Reply

