How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.

05/31/2011

– George Washington Carver

16 Responses to “How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.”

  1. afirmin Says:

    A wonderful piece of writing and so human! The more people accept this in their life, the more heart fills our world. God bless you spoon! Take care Alan.

  2. Becca Givens Says:

    What a timely message and reminder!!! Thank you for sharing ~~


  3. This reminds me of the golden rule: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Thanks for the warming thought reminding us to care for all others.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That best sum it up Tara. It may sound simple but not at all. Otherwise there won’t be some who expect to be treated highly despite how lowly they treated others. Huggs πŸ™‚

  4. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess

    The reality of human existence is that we must depend on someone else to get to where we want to go. Whatever we sow today will bear fruit tomorrow!!

    Praying we won’t need to eat the bread of bitterness and regrets

    Blessings
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      “we must depend on someone else to get to where we want to go” — great thought Ann! Whoever think that he can be where he want to be on his own, won’t reach it; that he reached it on his own, hasn’t arrived yet.
      πŸ™‚

  5. Debbie Says:

    This was very humbling and important for me to read today. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! I’m paying attention to being tolerant of the strong . . . πŸ™‚
    God bless you, sweet Rea!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I like how being tolerant with the strong was included in the quote as well because I have been practicing such and made me think — “I will be tolerant with you even when you became weak”. I am sure of that and I am rejoicing — not because of the fall of the ego but the rise of humaneness; not because of the absence of strength but the presence of power in Him πŸ™‚

  6. jmjbookblog Says:

    All I can say to that, ‘spoon’ is…Amen! πŸ™‚


  7. These words are true. Although mercy and grace are not earned, we do in a sense reap what we sow. It is good to remember that we have been or will be all of those things, because it helps us to follow the golden rule. πŸ™‚

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I agree with you Theresa. Each moment is an opportunity to plant what we want to be harvested. We may not be able to harvest it in our lifetime but surely down the line somebody else will and it might as well be a good harvest πŸ™‚

  8. By Baylis Says:

    Dear Bended spoon, Thanks for the excellent reminder. If I may add one more reminder, when you get somewhere, don’t think it is necessarily the end of the journey. The medical events of the past two years in my life, have taught me that the fragileness of life is startling. One minute you’re sitting on top of things with many ideas and plans. THe next minute, your’re laid low not knowing who you are or where you are. The only thing of which we can be sure is God’s presence. Shalom and blessings

    • Simmy Says:

      Speaking of thinking you’re finally on top of things and in “the next minute”…you’re being laid low ~ that just happened to me a month ago (literaly) One minute I was standing (oops! on ice DAH) the next BAM! I didn’t have a split second to realize I was standing on ice or going down. It was that quick.
      To make a long story short, in a matter of seconds I lost everything I’d gained in a single fragment of time. My job and my own two feet to stand on ~ I’ve been hobbling around on one foot for the past month now, thanking G*D that this cast is coming off in a few days, and knowing it could have been much worse.
      Eeygads! It could have been my face!! LOL.
      Me beautiful pearly whites!
      Sheeeew!
      The way I see it is, G*D’s got His way of giving us pause, and I can’t say I didn’t need a little time to stop and think about it all. I can only hope to be standing stronger, when I’m on my own two feet again.
      I can’t say I know what ails you, but I pray the LORD will heal you of it. He is our healer and He has healed me many times of many things ~ sometimes against my will if you want to know the truth. And there are times I have to admit, that I’ve asked Him why? Why can’t you bring me home LORD? It’d be so much easier for everyone else if you would.
      But, His ways are not our ways, and His thoughts are not our thoughts, so I guess I’m still here just to remind others that He is our protector, our provider, our defender, and above all, a constant friend and companion at all times ~ especially in the worst of times and the loneliest ones.
      I think the worst part of what’s happened to me is realizing that it always takes something drastic to make me aware of this truth.

      G*D is good.
      Shalom.

      • bendedspoon Says:

        @Baylis, that is so true. I know that very well. 4years ago I thought my life will go smoothly as planned, by me. Surprise, surprise β€” God shook my little world, made it bigger, shown me the vastness of my emotions that I never knew existed…and let me know that He is ever present β€” you are right. God bless you πŸ™‚

        @Simmy, thank you so much for your testimony. We can’t stand firm without God nor we can sit still without Him. May I ask why you type God as G*D? Peace and blessings to you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

