Power Trip

06/14/2011

“Behave like a man
No crying and puffy eyes
Emotions controlled.”

“Be thin and flawless
Each age spot and added fats
Deem you imperfect.”

“An ideal wife
Is like my mom, she’s the best
Be like her.”

“I love you so much
I love you just as you are
Except this and that…”

*
For Jingle Poetry on Dictatorship, Autocracy, and Depotism

For you. You are amazing just the way you are.

The power of love
The devils do not have it
Just love of power.

*
For us. To not lose the power to love.

🙂

44 Responses to “Power Trip”

  1. Catie Eliza Says:

    truly fantastic, makes my heart ache, so insightful and thought provoking… thanks. :] xx


  2. That haiku is exceptional! I love the poem too its so true we always put these arbitrary conditions on people and are especially manipulative of those we love, society even has something to say about how we’re allowed to look!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Sometimes, for wanting the best for our loved ones we make them feel like the least 😦 Thank you for appreciating and blessings to you 🙂

  3. Andy Says:

    This is a really powerful poem.
    Nice ending!


  4. POW! Those were powerful words. I’ve been in some dictator-esque relationships and you reflect the feeling of that well.


  5. BAM!! You nailed it! Be who you are! Nice writing!


  6. Love that song! Just the way you are …

  7. Ina Says:

    Expectations we didin’t ask for are dictators of the worst kind maybe.
    Good poem!

  8. ladynimue Says:

    The closing 3 lines were too good !
    Perfect word play 🙂


  9. Dictatorial haiku. Love it!

  10. Jingle Says:

    sharp.

    can’t agree more.
    🙂


  11. This is priceless…a painful reminder of the limits of our ability to love unconditionally. Excellent take on the prompt and all too familiar.


  12. Such a poignant and beautifully written poem.

  13. seabell Says:

    That’s what I call pocket-despotism. How clever of you! 🙂

  14. magher1 Says:

    Inspiring, noble and beautiful… Yes, let’s not forget the power to love, ever 😉

  15. dasuntoucha Says:

    I love you so much
    I love you just as you are
    Except this and that

    …sounds like some folks in my family…I can definitely relate.

  16. Debbie Says:

    This says so much to me and makes me all the gladder for His love. (way too many age spots and fats!)
    God bless you and love on you!

  17. Kavita Says:

    Oh.. this is goood! A superb message in there, my friend…
    When we say we love someone unconditionally, what DO we really mean indeed?! Your poem said it all.. too well!!

    Love and hugs to you, sweetie..

  18. Chatter Master Says:

    It is amazing to be loved. Just the way we are. I believe there is One who loves us just the way we are, even when we don’t believe we could be lovable just the way we are.

    Love to you BendedSpoon for bringing so much love to anyone who needs it. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And why did you make me cry with that? Thank you so much for the love. Thank you so much to the One who loves us just the way we are. Huggs and love 🙂

  19. dunstancarter Says:

    Loved it – not sure about the title but got into the dialogue snippets – it’s a poem that slaps

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you for appreciating. The title pertains to the gratification in setting in expectations at the expense of undermining the self-esteem of another. If you are familiar with my posts you’ll understand that I’m not really a writer or a poet or a grammar expert so any suggestion is most welcome. Peace and blessings to you 🙂

  20. maggsworld Says:

    Thought provoking as always and intensely personal…..)))hugs((((

  21. jesuisaudrey Says:

    aw, this is sad, and true for most people’s relationships as far as I can tell.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That makes it hard to fit in when supposedly that’s the place where one should be most comfortable.
      Hope you feel comfortable in here 🙂

  22. jmjbookblog Says:

    Amazing how each person that reads your message will see something different…for me it makes me think that my mother has never loved me unconditionally…she always makes me feel that I have to do this or that in order to be worthy of her love. I like to think my kids know they are loved unconditionally…I think they do…they can call me any time of the day or night with a problem…even wake me up at 3am (and that’s happened 🙂 but they know it’s OK…I could never do that with my mother.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is a very challenging relationship with your mother but see how you evolved from that one — very supportive and loving! Your kiddos are blessed to have you.

      I’m just wondering what your mom will say once you got your book published 😉 Hugggs and love to you.


Leave a Reply

