Cool Dad

06/17/2011

he is a Friend who race hermit crab with you

he  is   Awesome for leading the prayer before meals

he is a Teacher who taught you how to fish

he is a Healer too with his love and hugs

he  is   Enthusiastic about your doodles as if it’s an art

he has Risen after falling to be a good father to you.

.
For the father of my kiddos. Thank you for being a cool dad. I love you!

*

There is a father who is far from perfect but he’s cool for playing scrabble with a 6-year old girl and accepting defeat graciously when he lost to her.

You think that girl was good enough to win or her father was good enough to let her win? I say, because I’m that girl, that he’s good enough for me. I love him!

How about you? Can you share one cool thing about your father?

🙂

46 Responses to “Cool Dad”

  1. clariice Says:

    Kudos for sharing some father’s day thoughts 🙂
    Lovely!

  2. seabell Says:

    Instead of just saying how much I loved my father, this is what I wrote when I lost him. It is a translation:

    Sometimes Rivers Don’t Have Borders
    I shall never hear his voice
    Astonish with his endless humour

    I got tired of unmistakable signs
    I knew, but refused to read
    A dead spider in my teacup
    The impulse to write about him

    I watched the time in dismay
    All so parallel and I so impotently
    oblique

    Shoulders where I cry become scarce
    And if I cry is out of fear that without him
    Nothing shall ever be the same
    Gone the sortilege, the games
    the laughs

    We shall sleep summers and winters
    Against the walls where people die of love
    (Grand emotions, fragile lungs!)

    And I thought this river had
    Only one border to haunt me down

  3. Becca Givens Says:

    Sweet tribute!! My dad has been gone for three years, and I miss him … coolest thing, hmm … so many … but since time is of essence to so many in this fast paced, “I want it now” world … I would have to say … no matter how busy he was, no matter how many patients he had to see – he would ALWAYS make time for my call or visit to the office as it I was the only one there … and this is the remark I heard from many of his patients – he made them feel the same! I was/am proud of him as a father and a person!


  4. Wish i would receive something so wonderful from my child’s mother. Lovely well done and very creative, yet touching in a simple yet clever way.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much for appreciating. Happy Father’s Day to you who care for your child! You are blessed with a rare opportunity to make a difference in the life of your mini-Me 🙂

  5. K. McGee Says:

    Aw, how sweet is this!

  6. Joss Says:

    a wonderful tribute. cherish each moment.

  7. ALIVE aLwaYs Says:

    Emotions are quite high and very beautiful, nothing I can’t love.

  8. Teri C Says:

    So beautiful and so perfect!!!

  9. magher1 Says:

    Oh, great one! I love my dad! Hmm… a cool thing about him… He always forgives me when I do things wrong or rebel… He just doesn’t even mention it the next day and it’s so great because I don’t have to explain myself at all.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yup that’s cool! Because my dad keeps on repeating himself even before we make a mistake 😉 Hugggs to you and respect to your dad 🙂


  10. Awww this is so precious my husband is such a wonderful so loving

  11. Jingle Says:

    wow.
    a tribe to your kids’ Dad.
    how sweet.
    bless him

    enjoyed your enthusiasm.
    Cheers.

    🙂

  12. Debbie Says:

    Thank you for such a sweet tribute. You are precious and dear, generous and gracious. You overflow with Him.
    One cool thing about my dad (he was my step dad, but dad to me) was that he wanted to be with me, to spend time with me. I really appreciate that, because I wasn’t really his daughter, but he made me feel like I was. 🙂
    God bless you and hold you close to His heart!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Such a wonderful man! That is really cooool when somebody who is not related to you by blood loves you more than family. Hugggs to you beautiful Deb 🙂

  13. Kim Nelson Says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to feel good about the one who fathers your children?


  14. Thank you so much for sharing this. I have some great memories. I remember when I was in my teens we eat popcorn and drink orange juice while we watched our favorite t.v. show. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It’s always cool to spend time with dads! And I remember that we had no TV when I was young — my dad, mom, and I listened to suspense/horror radio series altogether. Time to get scared and get a hug 😉

  15. genebrother Says:

    From a Father of many years
    I would be proud to call you “Child of mine”
    Keep up the good work.
    Genebrother


  16. Such a wonderful, beautiful tribute for Dad. Great!

  17. ladynimue Says:

    Sweet post !
    What I remember my dad for now days is his biiig talks on way I am so not careful about money I earn ! Truth is , I love to see him scold me 😉 He knows it too !! 😀

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You two are cool! Dads know how it is to have no savings — because they either spent the family resources or they have worked hard for it. Time to pass the lessons learned 😉

  18. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess

    I was at recital tonight and saw a most beautiful thing… one little girl made an error in her presentation. She cried in daddy`s arms and he just wiped her tears and held her close. I was so moved, I could just cry. His actions didn`t undo the mishap but she seemed at peace in his arms. 🙂

    What I saw reminded me of how my daddy used to sing for us when we were tiny tots. It never occurred to me until now that maybe my love of songs and singing were influenced by what he did. Cool, dad!

    Blessings,
    ann

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Such a sweet dad. That little girl will probably remember it and cherish the moment. My kiddos remember their special moments with their dad when they were little. My eldest remembers how her dad carried her in the school, for a relay contest, despite how big she was 🙂
      Thanks to your dad — you’re now singing wonderful praises! Cool 🙂


  19. One cool thing? my dad told the corniest stories and jokes and was best at puns! Nice post! Thank you for sharing!!
    Chris

  20. Chatter Master Says:

    My father taught me the joy of jokes. And the art of story telling. And the value of hard work. Thank you Bended!

  21. Arlee Bird Says:

    My father could tell the same joke over and over and it would still be funny.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out


  22. 1.With lifted hands I heard my father pray.
    His gentle touch would smooth the tears away.
    At close of day I’d hear my father say,
    “God bless this house, Lord, keep us day by day!”
    His quiet strength, his zest for living;
    his mind that sought the mysteries of life.
    But most of all, I hear my father say,
    “God bless this house, Lord, keep us day by day!”

    2. If God is like this gentle, loving man,
    then I am safe within His mighty hand.
    And as I walk this world from day to day,
    He’ll bless my life and keep me all the way.
    God’s hand shall guide and lead me forward.
    I rest secure within His awesome power.
    And when I’ve walked the fullness of Life’s way,
    He’ll take me home with Him at close of day!
    ////////////////////////
    this is my tribute to my father.
    c.Donna Swanson

    • bendedspoon Says:

      So wow! Thank you so much for sharing them here Donna. It’s a real blessing to have a godly father where you feel safe, secure, and loved. But we all have One, right?
      You reflect the goodness of your father… Huggs 🙂


Leave a Reply

