Who Loves Me Not

08/01/2011

“I love you”

I said it.

“You are not good enough”

I replayed it.

Criticism and harsh comments

I allowed them to permeate the spirit.

Regrets and aged resentment

I ensured that they could not get out.

“I love you”

I said it.

When will I sincerely mean

what I say to myself?

.

For Jingle Poetry on Love and its not being there.

For us.  Ask the One whose love is unconditional that you may hear a “Yes!”.

Hurt, love was withheld

trapped — hostility and pain

bestowed, love can heal.

.

For healing. With love.

🙂

28 Responses to “Who Loves Me Not”

  1. Debbie Says:

    So thankful that He will love us tomorrow and for all eternity! God bless you and love on you today!

  2. ~L Says:

    So simple… Yet not simple at all…. I really love this!

  3. becca givens Says:

    I can relate to this … I have started with the premise of a quote I read “God don’t make junk!” … and “we are made in His Image” … so this means I am here for a purpose that perhaps only God knows, but He has me on a mission … I must be worthwhile or I wouldn’t be here … a work in progress!


  4. I believe we must first love ourself before we can truly love others, or allow them to love us.
    Nice writing, my friend!

  5. Rekha Says:

    Strong and thought provoking…the power to love oneself is something lacking in many of us…

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Could it be because we’re too lazy to love? Too afraid to love? Too numbed to love? Don’t know how to love? Don’t want to be loved? Whew, love is never easy 😉

  6. Pat Cegan Says:

    Loving ourselves is definitely a hard task at times. Wonderful piece. Hugs, pat

  7. Ravenblack Says:

    Tough to sometimes feel love for yourself and easy to be overly harsh because you know all that you did. Insightful.

  8. A.B. Thomas Says:

    ouch! This hit home as I have pondered this a time or two myself in my days

  9. Jingle Says:

    love it,

    weeds of thoughts grow and do harm to us if we allow them to.

    be honest and stick to your words, bless you.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And I never like it when those weeds are fertilized as if its growth will bear delicious fruits. Bless you too for your encouragement 🙂


  10. This is thought provoking. Our hearts and our feelings are not always stable, This makes me so thankful that we can put them in a place where they will be carefully kept safe from destruction.

    Love,
    Theresa

  11. booguloo Says:

    This reminds me of the song, There I’ve said it again” by Bobby Vinton. Love the poem.


  12. Great turn at the end makes this one really strong.

  13. luna15 Says:

    i don’t know…for me it was i just woke up one day and i finally did.

    beautiful this is.

  14. Catie Eliza Says:

    This is honest and wonderful. :] thanks! I’ll be back… xx


Leave a Reply

