To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty, and in the same field, it beholds, every hour, a picture which was never seen before, and which shall never be seen again.

08/20/2011

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

16 Responses to “To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty, and in the same field, it beholds, every hour, a picture which was never seen before, and which shall never be seen again.”


  1. I love this quote, especially the first bit, “To the attentive eye, each moment of the year has its own beauty”.

    It’s so easy in this day and age to have an unattentive eye, but it’s worth taking the time ot train yourself to *really* look.

  2. Ann Says:

    This is beautiful, Princess.

    I’m learning to pay attention to the things that matter and to let the rest take care of itself.

    Praying I don’t miss a moment of what He wants us to see.

    Blessings,
    ann


  3. It took losing and regaining my eyesight to truly appreciate all I see on a daily basis. It took having my hearing go away and slowly returning to appreciate the sound that get lost in our daily rush in the rat race of life. I hope we may all never take for granted the attentive eye that Enerson refers to.


  4. This is so true, and it makes me so glad! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing it.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      So many beautiful moments right before our eyes but sometimes we indulge the eyes at the back of our head — looking at the not so wonderful past 😉

  5. Linda Says:

    The “attentive eye” moves so fast today! How can anyone stop to enjoy the field when we’re doing ten things at once? I’m guilty of that, too… A quote to be still for.

    P.S. Two of your recent comments at “Shoes…” are not showing up. Makes me mad, I’m working on it!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You’ll be amazed how those fast moving eyes could capture so many beautiful things. I think it’s not the eyes that are actually seeing 😉

  6. Debbie Says:

    I love the wonder and appreciation and love expressed in this quote! God bless you, sweet Rea, and all that you see Him in each hour of the day!

  7. maggsworld Says:

    The perfect quote I needed for some thoughts on being in the moment. Love Emerson.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And I know you are so good in savoring each moment — from hot cup of water with lemon in the morning to caring for your loved ones 🙂

  8. Chatter Master Says:

    Oh Ralph was right about this! I’ve often thought this though not in such eloquent terms.


Leave a Reply

