When a child can be brought to tears, and not from fear of punishment, but from repentance he needs no chastisement. When the tears begin to flow from the grief of their conduct you can be sure there is an angel nestling in their heart.

09/03/2011

– Horace Mann

8 Responses to “When a child can be brought to tears, and not from fear of punishment, but from repentance he needs no chastisement. When the tears begin to flow from the grief of their conduct you can be sure there is an angel nestling in their heart.”


  1. Wonderful quote. and oh so true.

  2. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess 🙂

    I remember hearing the first part of this quote. What a beautiful thing! And now I have the rest of it – bonus!

    @ Theresa & Deb: Great comments. Loving the life application interpretations. Way cool!!

    Blessings all,
    ann


  3. Oh yes, yes indeed! and encamping around…

    …encircling that child with an unfailing love that always protects…that is patient, and kind rich in tender mercies, and promises to deliver form evil!

    Just look in the Bible. It’s true! It is true! And when that heart is brought to tears it was the Lord Himself that brought it to that place…it is His gift to that child:

    12Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.

    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3
    13For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. Philippians 2:12-13
    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3

    25Then will I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you.

    26A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

    27And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them. Ezekiel 36:12-27

    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3
    31Then shall ye remember your own evil ways, and your doings that were not good, and shall lothe yourselves in your own sight for your iniquities and for your abominations. Ezekiel 36:31
    <3<3<3<3<3<3<3

    Love you! 🙂

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You’re such an angel Theresa for bringing so much love in here — thank you so much!
      “…it is His gift to that child” — another revelation that I am a gifted child 🙂

  4. Debbie Says:

    Oh sweet spoon . . .I want to be that child! 🙂 God bless you and thank you for the best quotes!


Leave a Reply

