Day 7: Be Considerate To Yourself

10/07/2011

Would you abuse others?

Would you belittle others?

Would you be so hard on others?

Would you be unforgiving of others?

Would you expect others to always get it right?

No. No. No. No. No.

But why do some of us can’t answer the same when it comes to treating our own selves? It could be me to myself. It could be you to yourself.

Be considerate to yourself.

On days that you feel your light is not so bright, where you just blend in the surroundings, allow yourself some time to be still, knowing that you will eventually recharge.

Treat yourself as you would treat your friend – nicely, lovingly and encouragingly; with respect, compassion and understanding.

Be good to yourself, that self who is good to others. Be good to yourself because when that self is treated well it will disperse happiness.

Please click for other days.

It’s Day 7 of Feeling Good! My eyes are half close after days of insufficient sleep. My back is tired and screaming to touch the bed. If I am my friend, I will tell myself, “Get yourself some rest. Sleep in God’s grace.”

Surprisingly I listened! I am now giving myself a permission to close my eyes fully for the night. It feels good!

How about you? What would you want to do for your friend self?

After all, no one ever hated his own body, but he feeds and cares for it, just as Christ does the church.

– Ephesians 5:29

🙂

2 Responses to “Day 7: Be Considerate To Yourself”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Thank you, sweet spoon, for reminding us to be kind to us too. 🙂 That’s a hard one sometimes. I’m going to allow myself to smile and laugh more today, to notice little things and let those little things bring me big joy!
    love and prayers for you a sweet sleep!


  2. This encouraged me so much! I have missed reading your blog…have so muchcatching up to do.

    Love,
    Theresa


Leave a Reply

