Day 13: Hold On To Your Principles

10/13/2011

It’s not easy to hold on to your principles

When you are more concerned on what others might think about you.

It takes self-respect to not let others define you.

It takes understanding of the people who will frown at you.

It takes courage to be at risk of exclusion.

It takes love to be real with yourself and be happy about it.

Please click for other days.

It’s Day 13 of Feeling Good! Two days ago I received a call from a cigarette company asking me if I’m interested to join them. They will give my desired salary based on my CV saved in a job portal. Good, no more negotiations then on the salary. Bad, one of my principles is not to work with something I do not believe in. And so I politely replied without hesitation, “Thank you for the offer but I am not an advocate of smoking.”

“Are you sure? We can raise the offer?”

“It won’t affect my decision.”

“If you change your mind, please call this number.”

I am not changing my mind despite that some of my friends convinced me that it is okay.

I do not want to go to work every day knowing that I am part of something that is killing the people I love; the people I know; the people I do not know.

I want to be happy without sacrificing my principles and the people I love.

How about you, have you established your own principles?  Would you care enough to share one?

Got to feel good!


Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear what they fear; do not be frightened.”  – 1 Peter 3:13-14

🙂

2 Responses to “Day 13: Hold On To Your Principles”

  1. Ann Says:

    Good for you, Princess

    The Royalty in you stood up and said ‘NO!’ 😉

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. Debbie Says:

    God bless you, sweet spoon. I am so blessed by you sticking to your principles! 🙂 I’ve had some choices to make about how my special needs daughter is treated and cared for, and have had to “stick to my principles”. 🙂


Leave a Reply

