Day 31: Remember Your Death Experiences

10/31/2011

 

Less than a month ago I discovered a lump in my breast. What immediately came to mind is the possibility of breast cancer and of near-death. It made me pause and check myself.

There was no fear. There was no worry. How could it be?

I realized that I have been prepared for this – with my death experiences.

Death of dreams.

Death of trust.

Death of happiness.

Death of confidence.

Death of enthusiasm.

Death of hope.

Death of courage.

Death of spirit.

With those deaths I never asked, “Why? Why? Why?”  But nevertheless I am now given an answer if ever I ask, “WHY?!”

I was being prepared to give birth to my faith.

I gave birth to 4 living babies and my 1 unborn was taken from inside. Pure labor and pain before the release of lives from within me – very much like the birth of faith.

Please click for other days.

 

It’s Day 31 of Feeling Good! And I’m talking about death? Surely death is painful if we focus on the loss. But if we shift our focus to what it gave birth to – it has beauty on its own.

I never thought that faith alone could give birth to so many wonderful things.

Birth of dreams.

Birth of trust.

Birth of happiness.

Birth of confidence.

Birth of enthusiasm.

Birth of hope.

Birth of courage.

Birth of spirit.

Yes, what were lost are best lost. Now I have new ones — better ones plus so much more.

And oh, the lump in my breast is possibly not cancerous. The doctor told me to go back after a month to confirm if I need an operation but as of now, it subsided already. Death of lump?

Now tell me, how can I not feel good? Sometimes feeling good is not about feelings but about trust. That we are better off with it; how others are better off with it – with what is given or taken away.

This is the end of my 31 Days of Feeling Good series – but not the end of feeling good!

 

‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

🙂

7 Responses to “Day 31: Remember Your Death Experiences”


  1. Oh Rea,

    I missed this one. I am praying about this. 😦

    Love,
    Theresa


  2. Spoon, you always give moments of reflection and a reason for us to be happy and not sad. With so much going on in the world its important that we keep each other in our prayers and support. I was listening to the radio the other day and a quote by Ghandi was given…”If you want to see change in the world become that change”. Each year I am given a word to meditate on and pull me through, this year the word is “STAND”. So through the storm, STAND. For your standards and principals, STAND. Through your doubt and pain, STAND. Love you.


  3. Finding a lump is scarey regardless of your faith or level of hope. I am glad it is already subsiding. I will pray it fades completely, and we will soon celebrate fully the death of the tumor. Hugs to you!

  4. One Says:

    Hi Bended. I wish you get better soon and I wish you all the best.
    You might be interested in checking this site out:
    http://anitamoorjani.com/

    Thanks.

  5. maggsworld Says:

    Thinking of you.

  6. Chatter Master Says:

    God bless you Bended. He has blessed us with you.

  7. Debbie Says:

    Rejoicing in the possible death of the lump and praying for that too. What a beautiful ending to the Feeling Good challenge. I have been so blessed. You have helped us give birth to healthier thoughts and feelings, and let the bad ones die. love you, sweet spoon. God bless you and hold you tight today!


Leave a Reply

