Not In My Plan

12/10/2011

Image from Bluebell Books Short Story Slam  Week 16

*

“I don’t like rain it changes my plans.”

“And what are your plans my lady?”

“The usual — go for a walk, take pictures, stay at the café and have my favorite waffle.”

“How about checking someone else’s plan for you out there? Go out in the rain.”

“Go out in the rain? And wet myself?”

“Why not?”

“Okay. Okay. I’ll go out there with my boots and umbrella.”

“Don’t forget to wear your wow glasses!”

Reena smiled at her Mom.

Reena smiled some more – out in the rain.

She saw Mommy ducky and her cuties picked flowers – and yes she saw the quack wow in their eyes while they strut their way into the rain!

And so she picked flowers too – happy and fresh flowers bathe by the rain!

Silently she said her thanks, “Thank you so much dear duckies for showing me that I always have the option to find beauty even amidst the rain. That I should not automatically envision mud when it rains – but happy duckies!”

Reena can’t wait to get back home – duck walking and quack wowing.

“Mom, fresh flowers for you. I love you!”

“Wow! Thank you my lady and I love you too!”

“Welcome but you have to thank a mommy duck and her cuties as well!”

“Mommy duck and her cuties?”

“Yes Mom and thank you so much for today – a happy rainy day. Not in my plan — but a real gooooooood One!”

After series of tests, the doctor confirmed that a cancerous cyst has to be removed in my cervix.

I got to see a cardiologist in a while to confirm that it is okay for me to push through with the operation which is scheduled this coming Saturday.

Not in my plan — but I trust the real gooooooood One.

*

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”. – Jeremiah 29:11

🙂

9 Responses to “Not In My Plan”

  1. Morning Says:

    cute,

    love the creative details.
    🙂


  2. Dear Spoon,
    I am inspired every time I read you postings. Please keep praying and know that there are many others out here that are praying with and for you.
    My wife just completed a book that I just have to recommend to you and all your readers. It is “He Is Still Rolling Stones” by Max Lucado. The subtitle and theme throughout the book is the Bruised Reed and Smoldering Wick. The world will try to break you off and snuff you out, but God won’t. God has a special place for the bruised and weary of the world. God is a friend of the wounded heart.

    Lucado’s story is one of
    A Five-Time Divorcee
    A Despondent Cripple
    A Sister at a Funeral
    A Father in an Emergency

    “He is Still Rolling Stones” is the story that reminds us that the God who spoke still speaks; the God who forgave still forgives; the God who came into your world still comes into your world. He comes to do what you can’t do. He comes to roll the stones that you can’t roll.

    He will not crush the weakest reed
    or put out a flickering candle.
    Finally he will cause justice to be victorious.
    Matt 12:20 (NLT)

    Are you a bruised reed? Was it so long ago that you stood so tall, so proud? You were upright and study, nourished by the waters and rooted in the riverbed of confidence
    Was it that long ago you blazed with faith? Remember how you illuminated the path? The bruised reed and the smoldering wick? The world has a place for the beaten. The world will break you off; the world will snuff you out. But God won’t. God has a special place for the bruised and weary of the world. God is a friend of the wounded heart.
    At every turn of my journey the past three years, I was ready for rest. Wasn’t the brain tumor enough? Weren’t the seizures enough? Wasn’t taking me out of my analytic world and dumping me into a metaphoric world enough? Wasn’t the A-Fib and the Pacemaker enough? Wasn’t the Parkinson’s enough? However, God had other plans and God’s plans are always right. Rest in that assurance, but pray for full health and restoration, and do whatever you can to achieve it. That is the lesson of cripple and his friends who cut a hole in the roof of a house for the opportunity to have an encounter with Jesus.
    For me, that means in January, cataract surgery on both eyes and more tests on a prostate and urinary problem. But through it all, God has been there and continues to be there to straight me out when I feel all bent over and rekindles the flame when I feel snuffed out.
    The world may try to break us off and snuff us out, but God won’t. God has a special place for the bruised and weary. God is a friend of the wounded heart.


  3. Enjoyed the read. The beautiful simplicity of it felt like a balm to my heart. God’s creation always brings peace.
    I’ll be praying for you and that God work through the surgeons and that His mercy and grace be with you.
    I know God answers prayers and as of this past June, I am now a 10 year cancer survivor. They told me they managed to get it all, but I know that God was in their hands. I now enjoy everything more, all the simple things; walking in the rain, baking with my family just because, but what never left me, what was always there and always will be was and is my faith in God and in my Savior Jesus Christ.


  4. That is an inspiring story. I am praying about your surgery and recovery.

  5. maggsworld Says:

    I will be thinking of you as you take this journey and will silently in my mind and heart hold your hand and sit beside your heart. One day at a time my sweet.gifted friend. (I know this journey, and have walked these steps albeit for a different bodily location and I am still here 8 years later)

  6. Debbie Says:

    Sweet dear spoon, trusting in the Real Good One with you for this, for guided hands that perform surgery, for loving care for family and nurses, for healing and wellness and His love always.

  7. Ann Says:

    Princess,

    That’s a beautiful story with a very important lesson…. so much of what He sends is ” not in our plan”, but it takes a mature mind and the confidence in the Love He gives to embrace the things that are not in your plan.

    Praying the perfection of His plans over your life will be made manifest in this season. Jeremiah 29:11 is great encouragement when plans change .

    Thanks again for sharing. Praying for your miracle.

    Blessings
    ann


  8. Return to us soon with your wonderful words of joy and encouragement!

  9. Chatter Master Says:

    God has blessed us with you, and I will keep you in my prayers asking for His blessing on you, and your surgeon. Please be well Bended. I am sending love and good thoughts your way.


Leave a Reply

