India’s 50,000 Missing Children

10/05/2012

I miss you all too!

And yes from time to time I pause and think of you and pray for you my dear blog friends.

The heart strings were not cut. They were turned into lovely friendship bows.

The times that were used to be spent online were added to more hugs, kisses, sharing stories, crafting, smiling, walking around, counting blessings, and smelling the armpits of my kiddos.

It was all good. Soooo good. Very very very good.

It is such a blessing to be a mom. Just one kid brings so much joy. And I have four!

And today I read that around 50,000 children go missing yearly in India. That is 14 children missing everyday — infinite heartaches each second.

Pinky and Dinesh Kumar Singh pose with a photograph of their missing child Shivam Singh at their residence in New Delhi, on September 12. Thirteen-year-old Shivam Singh promised his mother he would be back to do his homework as he ran to get some sweets. He never returned, becoming one of the 50,000 children who go missing every year in IndiaThis combination picture taken on September 12, shows Indian women Ranjana Singh (left) posing with a photograph of her missing child Saket Kumar, while Pinky and Dinesh Kumar Singh (right) posing with a photograph of their missing child Shivam Singh

The photographs of missing Indian children are displayed at a police station in New Delhi. According to recent crime statistics, 14 children go missing in New Delhi every day, at least six of whom are victims of human traffickingReligious threads adorn a photograph of missing Indian child, Shivam Singh, at his family's residence in New Delhi, pictured on September 12. Thirteen-year-old Shivam Singh promised his mother he would be back to do his homework as he ran to get some sweets. He never returned, becoming one of the 50,000 children who go missing every year in India

(Photos from the News)

The kids are missing due to human trafficking. And this surely is not happening in India alone. We have our own numbers in our own backyard. It makes my heart ache as a mom and as human. What happened to our own kind, the adults? What happened to their hearts?

I pray that each one will hear God’s word. And feel God’s heart. Then feel their own. And know that God is in the heart business. He cleans, He restores, He makes new, and He loves.

Let us all give tight hugs, real tight hugs to all the children of the world.

Let us whisper that they are loved so much by God. Some might not believe it, like most of us do at some point in our lives, but still let us whisper. One day that whisper will be heard — loud and clear.

*

All your children shall be taught by the LORD, and great shall be the peace of your children. – Isaiah 54:13

 

.

13 Responses to “India’s 50,000 Missing Children”


  1. You bet. As much as I care for blogging friends, I often ask myself how much more could I change the world if I were present in it instead of a computer. Now I volunteer more. Here’s a hug for you too. Thanks for the message.

  2. mariqia Says:

    This makes me teary-eyed..

  3. lulu Says:

    If you’ve been taking time out to spend more time with your kiddos, that is time well spent. Time with them will pass all to fast so enjoy every minute.

  4. Debbie Says:

    I’m soooooo thankful for you, sweet spoon, for your children and the way you love them and love being with them. And for your heart that hurts for all these children today. Thank you for directing me how He wants me to pray and cry out tonight . ..and whisper and love and hug too.
    love you so much! You are a beautiful bow, dear friend!


  5. I’m having a difficult time formulating something to say. It is gut wrenching. So many children. Why can’t we protect them?


  6. I am so glad that you posted this.

    I am also glad to hear that you are enjoying time spent with your children.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa, it was only 2 years ago when I started blogging and when I checked the photos here where my kiddos bent the spoons, they look so different now — so fast! Got to give more hugggggs and kissesssss while I can! Huggggs 🙂


Leave a Reply

