Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no trouble, noise, or hard work. it means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.

03/05/2011

24 Responses to “Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no trouble, noise, or hard work. it means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.”


  1. That quote is old and anonymously written. Lady gaga did not write it.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      It is not? What is the control out there for official sites to not accredit the quote from any one who did not originally write/said it? Did you try informing them too about this?
      Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Jim Swindle Says:

    It’s an excellent quote. It makes me realize that I’ve never prayed for Lady Gaga. I wouldn’t know one of her songs if I heard it, but I pray that she will some day find the Lord’s true peace.

  3. pbus1 Says:

    It is wonderful, that when everything around me is in chaos, by the grace of God, He gives me inner peace! The Scriptures that came to mind are Philippians 4:7-8, which say, “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

    May He shower you with blessings.

    Paulette

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Paulette for sharing God’s peace! I need it so much amidst disappointment within myself; busyness in everyday life; disturbance in the world. Got to think of good and lovely thoughts!
      🙂


  4. Your New Nick name is “On Point”! Love it! There is nothing more valuable and important is Inner Peace!

  5. afirmin Says:

    This is wonderful! And so true. I
    t reminded me of my favorite poem, IF by Rudyard Kipling:

    If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
    If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
    But make allowance for their doubting too:
    If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
    Or, being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
    Or being hated don’t give way to hating,
    And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise;

    If you can dream — and not make dreams your master;
    If you can think — and not make thoughts your aim,
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same:
    If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools;

    If you can make one heap of all your winnings
    And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
    And lose, and start again at your beginnings,
    And never breathe a word about your loss:
    If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
    To serve your turn long after they are gone,
    And so hold on when there is nothing in you
    Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

    If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    Or walk with Kings — nor lose the common touch,
    If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
    If all men count with you, but none too much:
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
    And — which is more — you’ll be a Man, my son!

    I love this!!!

    Take care Alan.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I love IF too! Thank you so much Alan for sharing it! If I remember it right you post this one on your door when you were a teen.
      And now you are a Man! 🙂

  6. Linda Says:

    … in the midst of those things I can still be calm in my heart.

    Good words, good wisdom. But even as a Believer with lots of Bibles, friends, and a phone list, I struggle with that. I can read Psalm 91 over and over, but still take an Ambien as a back up to go to sleep.

    Not proud to say it, but my peace is transient. God is always there, but peace is fleeting.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you so much Linda for your honesty. I do not feel peace as well at all times. It is so hard especially when temptations and triggers are all around — for real or in the mind.
      He will rescue us… 🙂

  7. jmjbookblog Says:

    Beautifully worded…I guess that is why she is able to write so many song lyrics. 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Yes she can write songs and that is her edge to other artists. Unfortunately talent alone won’t always catapult one to stardom. She wants fame badly so she go for what she thought will bring her that far. Hopefully she won’t fall real hard.
      🙂

  8. Debbie Says:

    I love what maggsworld says, that God can use anything or anyone to speak to us. 🙂 But, only He can give us that kind of peace! God bless you with His peace today!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That is so true that’s why I do not close my ears just because I saw the messenger. The heart and spirit will know from whom the message came from.
      Thank you Deb and peace to you too! 🙂

  9. Chatter Master Says:

    I really don’t know Lady Gaga’s music. But I like this quote. I think it is only through faith and love that one can have that kind of peace amidst so many other troubling factors, world events. Thanks Bended Spoon. As always, you give me a sense of peace.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      And you love much and you cling to the faith…It’s no wonder you are at peace with the past and you are creating a beautiful now.
      Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

  10. maggsworld Says:

    I am no Lady GaGa fan or admirer. In fact her story as lived is anything but insprational, but God can use anyone or anything to speak. I love the quote.

  11. By Baylis Says:

    Rea,

    You have done it again. You have gone right to the heart of the matter. One of the things that I have enjoyed about working in Christian universities is that I didn’t have to explain my choice of closing letters or memos. I would usually end each with the benediction, “Shalom,” one Hebrew word for peace.

    Peace is used time and time again in benedictions throughout scriptures.

    As noted by Moore to ponder in the comment above, in Christ’s farewell to his disciples, he choose to leave them peace as a serum against fear.
    Moses was instructed by God to give this blessing to Aaron and the people of Isreal, “The Lord bless thee and keep thee, and be gracious unto thee, The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee and give thee peace.” (Numbers 6:24-26) Paul in his benediction in II Thessalonians said,”May God himself, the God of peace, continually give you his peace at all time, and in every way. THe Lord be with all of you.” (II Thess 3:16)

    HoOwever, James reminds us that it is not enough just to wiah everyone peace. We have a responsbility to help bring about that peace. (In James 2:15-17)he write, “Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed, but does nothing about their physical needs, what good it is?” …Faith by itself, if it not accompanied by action, is dead.”

    What have we done recently to bring about God’s peace?
    Shalom.
    By

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Now I learn again from you. Two things — Shalom and action to go with good intentions. Thank you so much for bringing more than peace in here! I may not say as much but the heart knows beyond words.
      🙂


  12. It is interesting that even though I am not one of her fans, I am encouraged by those words.

    There is a Bible verse that comes to my mind:

    “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27

    That is the greatest peace that we can ever experience. 🙂

    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa I missed hearing that verse. It is part of the Catholic Mass said by the priest before we greet everyone with “Peace be with you”.
      It is so comforting. Thank you 🙂


Leave a comment