I Am Singing

06/06/2011

Pain can be a grace
in the midst of hurting
a song can be heard
from someone who lost interest
in music
when the music teacher
of two decades ago
laughed
when I sang out of tune.

With shells cracked
Someone wants me healed
music tried to seep in.
How do we sing when broken?
with cracked voice
with bleeding heart
with bruised spirit
with deep feelings
with desperate pleading.

Pain can be a grace
I can sing
I want to sing
I am singing
not for any music teacher
not for hardcore critics
but for Someone
who wants to listen
to my life song.

For Jingle Poetry on Songs

For staying strong. One of my favorite songs – “Get up there’s more to be done…”

And the singing never stops with this brilliant award!

Coal and diamond

Made of same stuff but one shines

Welcome polishing

Thank you soooo much to the truly brilliant poets with their brilliant poems!

Ina http://inaweblogisback.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/too-romantic-for-his-own-good/

Broken Sparkles http://brokensparkles.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/chains-of-rain/

Seabell http://seabell.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/art-class-poetry-potluck-36-sketches-images-and-impressions/

Thingy http://thingy-thingy-ponderinglife.blogspot.com/2011/06/pretty-cardboard-boxes.html

Butterflies of Time http://harivarasanam.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/sin/

Olivia http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/essence-ial/

Andy http://mypoetcharm.blogspot.com/2011/05/evening-wind.html

Luna http://lunawitch15.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/oh-memory/

The Lonely Recluse http://lonelyrecluse.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/you-me-and-mr-nobody/

Tarunima http://crossroads-tarunima.blogspot.com/2011/05/beauty-of-woman.html

Wyoming Diva  http://wyomingdivawritespoetry.blogspot.com/2011/06/referee.html

Becca http://beccagivens.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/no-refills-wanted/

Chimnese http://mypoetrywriting.blogspot.com/2011/05/his-coming-is-near-upon-shores-off-each.html

Fama Semper Vivat http://fsvpoetry.blogspot.com/2010/11/recipe-for-disaster.html

Magdalena Herman  http://magdalenahermanstories.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/the-consequence/

Someone is Special http://pendownmythought.blogspot.com/2011/04/these-are-few-of-my-favourite-things.html

Sri Sri http://insecurevalentine.blogspot.com/2011/04/life-is-not-pauseable.html

Jingle http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/saturday-writing-challenge-less-than-27-words/

Jamie Dedes http://musingbymoonlight.com/2011/06/01/upside-down/

The light within bursts

You are all shining brightly

Can we sing to that?

🙂

71 Responses to “I Am Singing”


  1. This is my first time I have visited this site. I found a lot of interesting stuff in your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the great work.


  2. Thank you for posting this music Video… got me sinking and tapping on the desk with pens and hands…Come ON, Come ON! It really inspired my Faith today… to get me singing and to get my songs on the web to share with others. I’ve come so far…can’t give up now.
    Love all the little things growing in the time lapse photography… we are growing as well…
    Blessings from Susan. (Australia)

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Wow that’s great! Yup, we can’t give up now — because we’re not giving up our future either 🙂 I appreciate so much the time-lapse photography as well, knowing that those kind of moments have never gone unnoticed by the Almighty —how much more our own growth? Peace and blessings to you 🙂

  3. Olivia Says:

    Did you say Life- song? That’s my fave!!!
    How beautifully have you expressed your thoughts here.. singing already!
    xoxoxox

  4. Jess Says:

    a beautiful piece. thanks for sharing.

  5. souldiaries Says:

    beautiful as always reminding me to ‘sing’, reminding me to keep on going, despite of and in spite of the past. thank you. and thank you for the intro to some new poets xxxxx graceful you x

  6. Barbee Says:

    Thank you for the beautiful verses, they really spoke to my spirit.
    Now I can go about my day with a song in my heart…
    Bee well 🙂

  7. WyomingDiva Says:

    He who sings once, prays twice.

    Love the song and the poem – and thanks for the mention!

  8. Chimnese Says:

    i think singing when you broken and hurting its the best way to just sing out loud, not being bothered by the rest..music is always the one thing i seek to make me better.


  9. Love the second stanza stunning. Listening to music and writing really help me through the major lows in my life.

  10. Sam Says:

    Beautiful, it just made me start singing a lovely song ” Sing” by Travis… 🙂

  11. Debbie Says:

    This was so beautiful, like you! The poems as so from your heart, they bless big time. It has me thinking of a time at church when the pastor came around and asked different ones if they wanted to sing to God. The song that was being sung went something like this . . .

    I love you, Lord,
    and I lift my voice
    to worship You
    oh my soul
    rejoice
    Take joy, my King
    in what You hear
    let it be a sweet, sweet sound
    in Your ear.

    Love the Newsboys too! 🙂
    God bless you and all that you sing for Him!


  12. Keep singing – and writing! Great verse,

  13. Classic NYer Says:

    Beautiful poem… and I totally hear what you’re saying. Music should be about life, not about impressing people.

  14. robin Says:

    sing it… i can hear you

  15. mairmusic Says:

    Sing on, my friend– an interesting verse.

  16. ~L Says:

    Never stop singing! Their is a song by Mercy Me called Got to keep singing” beautiful post!


  17. Ah, I can’t sing for the life of me, I’m totally tone deaf, but I love singing. Lovely.

  18. thingy Says:

    Truly touching piece. Sing!

    Thank-you for the mention, bendedspoon. (((hugs)))


  19. Rea, When I was a kid my mom told me I couldn’t carry a tune in a bushel basket. But now I still sing. I sing in my car, I sing in the shower, I sing in church (though not in the choir). Yesterday I even sang a birthday song to a friend so she would know the tune. She didn’t say I couldn’t carry it. But mostly, when I sing, I also sing for Someone who loves to listen because I am singing just for Him. Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I can see your love for music through the songs you are sharing with matching thoughts — making the song more meaningful! God bless you Linda for singing and living good tunes 🙂

  20. booguloo Says:

    Nice to have someone around to listen.

  21. Andy Says:

    I start & end each & every day singing, dancing & listening to my favorite music. It gives me energy to face my day and relaxes me when my day comes to an end.

    For me, the most beautiful part of my singing/dancing is the joy I capture on my wife’s face when she hears my voice. That look stays with me always.

    Sing to your heart’s content.

    Congratulations on a well-deserved award and thank you for mentioning me here. You are most gracious!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Is that your secret for being passionate which is so evident in your poems? Glad to imagine your wifey’s joy. Thank you for making her happy. One woman who is happy is a cause for celebration! Blessings to you 🙂


  22. This made me sad…how the thoughtless words of a teacher can snuff out a flame. You keep singing. The song is beautiful. “You’re in the moment now.” My goal for “now.”

    • bendedspoon Says:

      I actually rule out the dream of being a teacher for fear that I might hurt somebody and destroy a life…

      I really appreciate your encouragement.
      Thank you so much 🙂

  23. Tino Says:

    You would fall off the floor listening to me singing 😉 But would/does that stop me?

    Sing for the joy of it and to hell with what any teacher has to say.


  24. What a wonderful song! And now you have quite a choir of singers (poets) singing along! Keep singing… 🙂


  25. Thank you for including me among other talents! Let us sing with you and enjoy the sounds of beautiful poetry you share with us!

  26. luna15 Says:

    stay singing. for its a start
    to heal a soul or a broken heart.
    to remember there is life beyond the door
    sing so others can know even more.
    sing for your yourself
    and all that you do.
    you are a wonderful you.

    Love,
    Luna

  27. jmjbookblog Says:

    Beautiful…as the saying goes ‘he who sings prays twice.” Alleluia! 🙂


  28. We sing by the grace of God, we do all things by His grace. A beautiful, oddly uplifting poem, thank you. And thank you for the praise that I do not deserve.
    you class me as a fellow poet
    when my voice stumbles
    where your’s dances
    my word crumbles
    where your word pulses
    I stare into the dark and scream
    where you look at the light and sing
    your words beam
    and my words sting.
    Truer for you than the poet I first wrote it for. God bless.
    The Lonely Recluse.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You are very talented and your poems are extraordinary. There is so much potential within you waiting for your acknowledgement and appreciation. I’m excited…! 🙂

  29. seabell Says:

    My piano teacher used a thin stick to correct the position of our hands and to punish our mistakes, what I regard as a really silly thing because piano students really need their fingers. Some teachers are like that!

    I also have to declare that I’ve been listening to you and I thank you for being a good listener too. Let’s keep singing!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Then it’s better to take piano lessons than voice lessons 😉 Or maybe we can sing without tutor? 🙂

      Thank you sooo much for listening! Thank you so much for appreciating my simple thoughts despite that I might have not totally understood your profound thoughts 🙂

  30. Ann Says:

    Thank you, Princess 🙂

    Wonderful piece

    I’m singing too 😉

    Blessings,
    ann

  31. Ina Says:

    🙂 Lovely song! And thank you for mentioning me here!

  32. Becca Givens Says:

    “Pain can be a grace
    I can sing
    I want to sing
    I am singing
    not for any music teacher
    not for hardcore critics
    but for Someone
    who wants to listen
    to my life song.”

    Oh, so true! Music is a healing balm – that seeps into all the tiny crevices … until it reaches the core and fills out! Beautiful post — congratulations on your award and thank you for the mention! What an honor!!

  33. Jingle Says:

    brilliant piece,

    what a honor to be mentioned here,
    you rock…

    Cheers.

  34. Jamie Dedes Says:

    Yes indeed! The light within does burst – star burst!

    A fine poem, nice song, and sweet, thoughtful homage. Thank you!

    Poem on …


  35. It is good to keep a song in our heart. That was a moving poem.

  36. magher1 Says:

    Beautiful! Let all the people sing! I truly love singing just for myself. It helps me to deal with stress or sorrow… I just hope my neighbors don’t mind that ;P


Leave a comment