L is for Lalala

04/14/2011

LALALA we will have some fun today for I am bringing you the L of poetry — LIMERICK!

I only learned about Limerick last month after more than 3 decades of existence here on earth!  Thanks to Madeleine where I stumbled upon it!

What is a Limerick?

A limerick (is):

  1. is five lines long,
  2. is based on the rhythm “da-da-DAH” (anapest meter)
  3. has two different rhymes.
  4. Lines 1, 2, and 5 have three of those da-da-DAH “feet,” and rhyme with each other.
  5. Lines 3 and 4 have two, and rhyme with each other.
So the basic form is:

da da DAH / da da DAH / da da BING
da da DAH / da da DAH / da da DING
da da DAH / da da BAM
da da DAH / da da WHAM
da da DAH / da da DAH / da da PING

I understand the rhyme but I don’t totally understand the rhythm. I go duh! But then that won’t stop me from trying and shaming myself because it’s fun! Anyone who wants to teach me and correct my 3 Limerick attempts is most welcome and appreciated — have mercy, teach me please!

Now here are the 3 Limericks.

( 1)
A woman is hysterical
Her man turned into a jackal,
How come when they vowed
No hurting allowed,
Love is no longer magical.

(2)
The man jumped out of the window
Good that the house is bungalow,
The cat laughed out loud
Oh what a coward,
He’s afraid of his own shadow!

(3)
Today I decided to be happy
I won’t snap on anybody,
Lalala good day
It is our payday,
Can I have pie and green tea frappe?


Now enter the fun part. In the comment please come up with your own Limerick using any of the 1st line of the 3 Limericks. Please try, please please please! And enjoy!

We’re not yet done with LALALA because I am sharing with you a very special award from Luna — Luna’s Soul Award 2011! If you have not yet met Luna please check my J is for Jejune post. You will respect this woman with a beautiful soul.

Yes, you have a beautiful soul!

Moore to Ponder
Deb’s Blog
Tonirand’s Blog
Linda Kruschke’s Blog
For Heaven’s Sake
Faith Dream’s Blog
E Stelling
Shoes for Imaginary Life
Colleens’s Chatter B
JMJ Book Log
Finding Strength to Stand Again
Soul Diaries
The Treasure Within

Lalala the eyes’ reading this is beautiful. Please step forward and touch the lives within your reach. You will be amazed where it could end…

It might end back at you!

🙂

25 Responses to “L is for Lalala”

  1. maggsworld Says:

    Playing catch up’s and loved your “bite” on the art of the limerick.

  2. jmjbookblog Says:

    Well…here goes…you introduced me to Haiku and now Limericks! 🙂

    Today I decided to be happy
    Although I was feeling quite crappy,
    I rolled out of bed
    On the floor hit my head
    And standing there laughing was Pappy!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      ahaha! Thanks for the laugh today
      For wanting to be happy you pay
      But that is nothing
      If someone is smiling
      Are you enjoying the day, Jay?
      🙂

  3. baygirl32 Says:

    there once was a man from nantucket.. does that count?

    hi from the A to Z

    • bendedspoon Says:

      hmm…you count! Glad you’re here.
      Shalk we continue the fun?

      There once was a man from Nantucket
      He wished to build a skyrocket
      Here comes epidemic
      So many got sick
      Then he dreamt of making caskets.
      🙂

  4. Debbie Says:

    Love your lalala day. Needed me a day just like you served here. 🙂 Soooo, here’s my sad little try, but I hope it makes you happy!

    The man jumped out of the window
    landing hard on the ground down below
    when someone asked him why
    he was sure he could fly
    he had thought wings came with his halo.

    • bendedspoon Says:

      That was heavenly hilarious
      That funny man is real serious
      He got a halo?
      Such a blessed fellow
      Could you please lend your wings Precious?
      🙂


  5. Any woman like me
    Who’s hysterical, you see
    Can laugh and cry
    With a tear in her eye
    And then go out for tea

  6. Chatter Master Says:

    A woman is hysterical
    Who can not find the mystical
    Can’t find the beat
    To create this treat
    Ah so smart but so pitiful!

    Hahahahaha! E for effort???? 🙂

    Ah well! I love a writing challenge but limericks elude me! How fun! 🙂

  7. faithdream Says:

    Limerick, smickerick… I can’t figure it out.

    Here’s my attempt. Go ahead.. laugh.

    I once met a man from nantucket.
    He liked to live in a bucket.
    One day he sneezed.
    and the bucket was filled with peas.
    This woman is hysterical.

    Ok, this doesn’t make any sense. I was trying to incorporate your 1st line of your limerick.

    Thank you bendedspoon. You have a beautiful soul too.

  8. Arlee Bird Says:

    Okay, I’ll play.

    Today I decided to be happy
    Since it’s bad to be feeling crappy.
    I woke up with a smile
    And I blogged for a while,
    Ate lunch, then I took me a nappy.

    Okay, I guess I ended it kind of weird so I guess you could just slap me.

    Fun stuff to play with. Thanks for the diversion.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out


  9. You see, Rea’s a true friend of mine
    Like a flower that blooms on a vine
    Her smile is bright
    Her words do delight
    And are savored like very fine wine 🙂

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa that is wonderful
      For you I am truly grateful
      You care and pray for me
      A gift that’s so lovely
      Blessings to you beautiful soul.
      🙂


  10. Okay, here’s my try, though I’ve never written a limerick before and am also confused by poetry that is so structured:

    Today I decided to be happy
    Don’t think that I’m being too sappy
    A smile and a wink
    A laugh and a blink
    Will help my tongue not be snappy

    Oh, and thanks for the award! That makes me happy, too! Peace, Linda

    • bendedspoon Says:

      You made me so happy for trying!
      The tongue could be a darling
      If that little one prays
      And if it’s big on praise
      Could be a blessing, no denying.
      🙂


  11. I like limericks. The third one made me laugh! I wish I could think of one. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Theresa, please come back with your limerick!
      We can all share the fun! 🙂


      • You see, Rea’s a true friend of mine
        Like a flower that blooms on a vine
        Her smile is bright
        Her words do delight
        And inspire me all of the time 🙂

        • bendedspoon Says:

          Ooops minus 5 points for not using the first line from the 3 Limericks. So your score now is only 95%! lol

          You touched me so much Theresa because I think this is the first time you shared a poem in blogland. Thank you so much! Now it’s about time you share some more — in your place and Idylls for The King, as a start? Go for it!
          Love you 🙂


Leave a comment